Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 79

Thread: Which Browser

  1. #1
    Junior Member ruthrec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Conway, AR
    Posts
    219
    I'm not sure if I should post this in the Main section or not but I'd like to know what browser works best for this forum. I had no problems at all with XP or Windows 7 until I upgraded to IE9. Now I have three browsers...Opera for Facebook, Firefox for most everything else. About the only thing I can use IE9 for is checking email. Just curious as to what you use. My son-in-law and daughter gave me a new laptop a few weeks ago loaded with Win 7 and it's great but I'm in the dark now about browsers.

  2. #2
    saf
    saf is offline
    Super Member saf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,178
    I use Firefox for everything and have never had any problems. Touch wood! :lol:

  3. #3
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,173
    Blog Entries
    47
    I also use Firefox:)

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lucky Lady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Posts
    443
    I use Firefox for everything but for the past few days have not been able to open this forum. Computer keeps getting hung up. So, today I decided to try Internet Explorer (going through withdrawls, lol) and it worked. Yay!! I get on here several times a day to read the different posts and have really missed it the past few days. Love, love, love this forum.

  5. #5
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    6,020
    firefox, no problems with ads bothering me (I also use AdBlockerPlus)

  6. #6
    Super Member lauriejo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    3,315
    I usually use IE for this forum and haven't had any problem, except ones caused by my retarded computer.

  7. #7
    Super Member thepolyparrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,038
    I have IE9 on the computer that I'm migrating from and I'm about to put IE9 on this one - just got it yesterday. I started with the beta version of 9 and really liked it - very stable and some of the features are good ideas.

    I used to be into all the non-Microsoft alternatives like Opera and Firefox, but I've gotten un-geeky in my old age. ;)

    I don't want to troubleshoot hardware and software issues any more. I don't want to upgrade my own RAM or video card, much less install a new internal drive. I don't want to wrestle with registry errors any more.

    I want my computer to sit here and wait for me until I need it to do something and then I want it to just do it. :mrgreen:

    I want to go to a site and have it behave the way the author intended it to behave. And most sites are optimized for MSIE, whether they state that or not, because most users/visitors by far are using MSIE. Web authors who care about accessibility for the majority of their visitors write their pages for MSIE. (I haven't been a web writer for four years now, but visitor ease is one of your primary concerns - especially if you're writing a commercial site.)

  8. #8
    Super Member merry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Middle TN
    Posts
    1,630
    Foxfire for all; no problems :thumbup:
    Have Norton Security & ad-block

  9. #9
    Super Member Quilter7x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    8,527
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ptquilts
    firefox, no problems with ads bothering me (I also use AdBlockerPlus)
    Same here, love Firefox.

  10. #10
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,088
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use IE for the board but I have switched to Firefox when I go into the chat room :D:D:D

  11. #11
    Senior Member DeneK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Commerce, Ga
    Posts
    841
    Firefox for me too. Also to mention that when the board was having problems, I tried IE and Chrome, but when one didn't work, neither did the others.

  12. #12
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,024
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use IE and everything has been fine. I use it for everything I do. I just won't mess with changing things. I'm a lazy, lazy girl.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,381
    I've has some problems with Explorer the last couple of weeks so I tried Safari. I've had no problems with Safari.

  14. #14
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,646
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use firefox and I won't upgrade to IE9 unless I have to (even though I don't use IE).

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Roswell, NM
    Posts
    1,639
    Quote Originally Posted by ptquilts
    firefox, no problems with ads bothering me (I also use AdBlockerPlus)
    Same here.

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,733
    Quote Originally Posted by ptquilts
    firefox, no problems with ads bothering me (I also use AdBlockerPlus)
    that's what I use also
    I have noticed in the last couple of days that the pictures are loading very slowly compared to what they were.

  17. #17
    Super Member Diana Lynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    east coast of SC
    Posts
    1,206
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love Google..to me its pretty fast..I do have explorer but its slow and alot of things either take forever or just not show up..

  18. #18
    Super Member miss_ticky2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    2,054
    Firefox here for everything. Just the odd site that's not compatable and then I use IE8, but that's very rare. I love Adblock Plus too :)

  19. #19
    Super Member pollyjvan9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,027
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use Firefox for everything and the only problem I have are with my old computer. My best friend keeps telling to break down and buy a new one.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    696
    I use Firefox for everything except webmail. For some reason it won't load my webmail correctly. I never use Google because they keep a log of where you go on the web. I use startpage.com for searching. They do not record your IP address, etc. I have problem with "big brother" knowing what web sites I use.

  21. #21
    Super Member cathylynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,107
    Blog Entries
    1
    IE9. when lots of other board members were having problems during the board maintenance period, I had no problems - this site ran as usual. I do use AVG anti-virus software with it.

  22. #22
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    8,643
    I use safari or firefox (on a Mac) - haven't had any problems with either one. Once in a while things are a tad bit slow, but not very often.

  23. #23
    community benefactor Renee110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    774
    Blog Entries
    8
    I use Google Chrome. I like it...way faster than IE.

  24. #24
    Super Member BKrenning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Festus, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    1,552
    I use the latest version of Fire Fox on my play computer but have also used the latest version of Chrome & was impressed but not enough to give up Fire Fox. I have to use IE for my work computers to login to certain sites. I prefer IE 9 over IE 8. It is faster.

    The problem I'm experiencing with the board has to do with my ISP not liking their ISP or their's not liking mine. If I use my normal home connection, Wildblue satellite, I can rarely get in and no pictures. If I use Sprint or AT&T cell service--it works every time but the pictures are still hit and miss.

  25. #25
    Senior Member Grambi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Spring Branch, Texas
    Posts
    966
    Sadly, I don't even know what any of that meant. It's like you were using a foreign language:)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.