Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Buying Thread Help >

Buying Thread Help

Buying Thread Help

Old 01-11-2024, 05:07 AM

Default Buying Thread Help

I bought 2 spools of thread yesterday at JA because I needed light tan to attempt my FMQ. $16!!! They weren't cones, just spools! I was gifted some cones of white that I love. Can I have a few suggestions of sites that ya'll shop? I'm new to longarm FMQ (sit down). I tried searching threads for "thread"-futile.
I also have not figured out how much thread is used to quilt all over. I was a SITD-er and learned how much thread I will need for that, but for FMQ, I didn't want to run out of the color. So I bought a large spool. Another learning curve.
Old 01-11-2024, 05:49 AM

Yeah -- thread has gone up sharply in the past few years!!

If you haven't yet discovered the Superior Threads website yet, it is probably time to do so:
https://www.superiorthreads.com/

There is another thread currently on the front page that talks about the company having been sold. I haven't bought any new products from them in the last 2 years, but I had no issues with them pre-sale.

Lots of good info and lots of threads at reasonable prices. Free shipping if you buy enough -- as you've found it usually doesn't take all that much any more, a couple of cones and some specials or "try me" threads. I first started buying direct from them when my friend got a long arm. We had a terrible time winding a decent bobbin with her machine and locally (a few years ago) Type M bobbins were just not really available in our area.