Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Chain stitching

Chain stitching

I'm a newbie in quilting. When I start to chain piece my thread gathers, when I cut them apart I have to resew the ends. Why is this?

It usually helps to run off the fabric 3 or 4 stitches. This helps to 'lock' the stitch a little better. I just did a bunch of chain stitching last night. I have the starters and enders and I run 3 or 4 stitches between the pieces and the starters/enders. When I am doing the chain piecing and I am on the last rows and things, I will back stitch a bit on the edges. Usually when I know that that edge is going to be pulled on it with quilting and binding and such.
    Jane
    Physically in Maryland but heart is in Indianapolis.

Rescued Boxers are adoptable love. Please consider a homeless/rescued pet when adding to your family.

Blog Entries
    I think you mean chain piecing? Chain stitching refers to a different type of sewing machine.

It is probably being caused by unbalanced tension on your machine. If this is the case, either the top tension is too tight or the bottom tension is too tight. What kind of machine do you have? If it's not a drop-in bobbin, check out this Youtube video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1mRhcquZTM
    Even though it's for longarm machines, the same technique works really well for domestic machines. What you are aiming for is a balanced stitch with the stitches locking in the middle of the fabric.

If you have a drop-in bobbin, I assume you just have to use trial-and-error unless someone else on the QB can advise.