Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Charity Questions?? >

Charity Questions??

Charity Questions??

Old 06-19-2015, 06:53 AM

Default Charity Questions??

I am fairly new to quilting (2 Years) I have noticed that lots of quilters make quilts for charities. I enjoy making quilts just for fun and have built up a pile that I would like to donate. I know some have certain standards that they want you to stick to, but are there ones that just take anything? I am in the Northern Virginia area. Also, do you write them off on your taxes? How do you value quilts for charity???
Old 06-19-2015, 07:15 AM

I make lap quilts and smaller wheelchair quilts, usually have at least a doz by Xmastime that I take to my local Nursing Home. They become Xmas gifts for many of the residents who have no family or resources. The facility gets many donations of all kinds for the party they have for residents. I also make a few walker bags and wheelchair bags, as well...these are very appreciated by the residents. I do not claim tax deduction. I enjoy doing this, it gives me purpose in my retirement. For me, (just my personal opinion) claiming tax deduction feels to me like I am selling them. When I can't afford the supplies, I will somehow find what I need at yard sales or Goodwill. Buying at Goodwill helps many people too.
Old 06-19-2015, 07:20 AM
Power Poster

Emergency shelter's, long term care facilities, police, and fire departments all accept/ appreciate donations. In order to v
Claim your donations on taxes you have to keep Good Records and Receipts. You can not claim a market value. You can only claim the cost of materials you used and have receipts to show the cost.
Old 06-19-2015, 08:11 AM

Our guild gives to Red Cross and to a few local places that help victims of domestic violence. None of our charities have "rules" on what they will accept.