Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Is it crucial? >

Is it crucial?

Is it crucial?

Old 08-30-2013, 08:34 AM

Default Is it crucial?

I'm new at quilting, and am making a quilt for my new grand-daughter to be...I've finished the top and it measures 38 1/4 X 44 1/4 exactly. Per instructions, my backing needs to be cut at least 3" larger than the quilt on all sides... My backing piece (what's left of it) only measures 41" x 51 1/4". Obviously, although the backing is bigger, it doesn't equate to 3" inches on the 2 sides of the quilt. I'm assuming that the 3" requirement has to do with the quilting - meaning maybe it draws up during the quilting process? I don't want to have to go buy more material for this small amount.....how crucial is it? Thanks for any advice...
Old 08-30-2013, 08:59 AM
Power Poster

I've made small quilts with backing only slightly bigger than the top, similar to your proportions, and they've turned out fine.

What basting method are you planning on doing, though? I think spray basting keeps everything lined up the best, with the least likelihood of running short on the backing after quilting. Be sure to read some of the tutorials on how to baste with basting spray. With a backing such as yours, you want to be sure to get the top centered accurately. One of the reasons extra fabric for the backing is recommended is so that, if you are off a bit on centering, you will still have all 3 layers in the quilting.

Do you plan to machine quilt? If so, I highly recommend heavily starching the backing and top before layering. For a small quilt, several layers of spray starch on each would be enough. (I usually use a very heavy starch solution on backing fabrics.) Starch stabilizes the top and backing so they are much less likely to stretch or distort while you are quilting.
Old 08-30-2013, 09:03 AM