Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: design wall

Hi everyone. I just found/joined this list but can tell you all have lots of info. For those of you who have design boards or walls, could you give me some advice on which fabric to use (or not to use)? I have about a 6 x 8 foot wall space for it. I've heard flannel, fleece,& felt. What have you used & are you happy with it? Thanks. Ruth aka Nonna2

Ruth,
    I have a design wall made of flannel covered core boards. I love it! The flannel works most always but when I start layering fabric and I need to stick a pin in that's when the core board comes in handy. I'm a retired teacher so a flannel board just seemed natural to use!:lol:

This last week I decided I needed a flannel covered wall to hang some of my multiple projects so I don't forget them! I just stapled some flannel directly to the wall. Pretty soon I'll have the whole room covered in flannel!

My sister-in-law uses a flannel backed plastic table cloth that she had. She just tacked it up, flannel side out. Works a charm!

In a pinch my sister has used batting. I guess it's whatever's handy!

Thanks, Yvonne. Sounds great. Is the nap on the flannel an issue requiring direction, or does it matter?

Since it's just fuzzy I don't think it matters, mine works great.
    kathy

Ruth, When I started making my design wall I was using a sticky-back core board and scraps of flannel. I was just picking flannel that fit the board and sticking it on and nailing it to the wall. I'm sure I've got fabric grains and naps running everywhich way! No, I don't think it matters.

When I first read your note I was thinking, *napping on the walls? I can't sleep vertical!* Who's warped! :lol: No napping on my walls.

Suz