Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Disappearing Nine Patch and quilting it together

Red face Disappearing Nine Patch and quilting it together

Hello everybody,

I am new at trying the disappearing nine patch and quilting it together. In fact, I've never had the opportunity to do much quilting but now I am able to do so (a little at a time) and enjoying it. I just finished two completed blocks and so far so good. My question is which do you prefer when quilting it together: quilt as you go method or quilt the whole quilt together? Also, do you recommend stitch in the ditch when quilting it together on your own machine? I'm thinking of doing stitch in the ditch if I make it through the whole process.

Thanks for your help and suggestions.

Banned
    I prefer to quilt the finished top. Tried the other, was not impressed with the results.

I haven't tried QAYG yet, but it's one of the things I plan to look into. It's certainly an appealing idea, as pushing a whole quilt around is difficult for me, and I therefore don't quilt as often as I would like to.
    Lisa

I have tried the quilt as you go (by machine). I am not very good at it. The quilts seem a bit stiff so I went back to putting top together and then hand quilting.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

Power Poster
    Hi -

Welcome -

What size quilt are you planning to make?

I can wrestle a quilt about 60 x 80 inches through my older (1980s) machine - but all I do is straight line or stitch in the ditch quilting.

There are few quilting questions that have only one answer.