Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do I Need to Snip the Corners on Fabric Before Washing?  Never Washed Fabric Before--Don't Want a Big Tangle Ball >

Do I Need to Snip the Corners on Fabric Before Washing? Never Washed Fabric Before--Don't Want a Big Tangle Ball

Do I Need to Snip the Corners on Fabric Before Washing? Never Washed Fabric Before--Don't Want a Big Tangle Ball

Old 09-27-2011, 07:21 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The California Hills
Posts: 626
Default

I believe I have read here a few mentions that people snip the corners of their fabric before washing so it doesn't unravel too much. Is this correct??

Do you snip a small (around 1/2 to 1 inch) section diagonally (like a snipping off a small triangle) off of each of the 4 corners?
AngelinaMaria is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:32 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
IAmCatOwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 862
Default

I don't. I took a tip from this board and wash on the shortest delicate cycle. I stopped getting a gazillion strings when I did that. No need for a full cycle (although I don't use batiks).
IAmCatOwned is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:40 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
spartan quilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: central North Dakota
Posts: 1,398
Default

I don't actually wash the material. I fill the machine with the temp of water that I would use normally to wash the finished quilt. I put the fabric into the water, and let it sit for an hour or so. Then I spin the water out. I decided that I only need to go for shrinkage, and not remove soil that isn't there. By removing the agitation process, the material doesn't get so tangled. I just hang the material on a clothes horse to dry. That works for me.
spartan quilter is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:45 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
TiltedEars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 464
Default

Geesh. In my crazy life with 3 kids ages 8, 9, & 11, my fabric often is forced to fend for itself in a load with whatever needs to be washed at the time. Some fabrics leave lots of strings, while others hardly make any at all. I would like to use delicate or just soak, but the washing machine is usually in too high of demand for that. I press the fabric & trim strings as I go.
TiltedEars is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:54 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The California Hills
Posts: 626
Default

I bought a front-load HE machine a year ago and have cursed about it pretty much from the second week on. It is so frustrating to not have any "control" over the process. With a top load machine, I was able to open the door and test the wash or rinse water temperature and toggle back and forth between hot and warm or cold to get the temperature I wanted. I could leave the door open after it filled with water and was suddsy, and this gave me a soak period.

Now, with a front load, I can never tell what temperature it is using (meaning, I can't tell how hot the warm cycle is--with my old machine it was pretty hot so I blended some cold in sometimes). I can't just turn the dial ahead in the cycle or really override anything.

I am prewashing these fabrics because they are dark christmas colors that will be blended with a few light colors.
AngelinaMaria is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:50 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
connie_1936's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: mesa and payson, arizona
Posts: 772
Default

i clip about 1/2 inch off each corner,it really helps. i totally agree about the top load washeer, its horrible, and not cheap, top of the line. wish i had my olod ones back.
connie_1936 is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 09:28 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 8,248
Default

I cut a snip on each end and wash on delicate. I like the just soaking in water. To do that can u soak in cold water? I wash my fabric in cold water.
Painiacs is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 10:23 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
cathylynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,162
Default

I did clip the corners of the fabric with pinking shears before washing and had very little raveling.
cathylynn is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:07 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,611
Default

I have my DH zigzag the raw edges for me and that works Great!
Tropical is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:37 PM
  #10  
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Enid, OK
Posts: 8,273
Default

Originally Posted by spartan quilter
I don't actually wash the material. I fill the machine with the temp of water that I would use normally to wash the finished quilt. I put the fabric into the water, and let it sit for an hour or so. Then I spin the water out. I decided that I only need to go for shrinkage, and not remove soil that isn't there. By removing the agitation process, the material doesn't get so tangled. I just hang the material on a clothes horse to dry. That works for me.
remember it is not just "soil", which is there in the form of dirty hands, dirty floors, germy hands..you know..BUT there are chemicals sprayed on that fabric as well! at least put some lysol concentrate if you don't want to use soap!
jaciqltznok is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Gaga4Quilts
Main
36
10-26-2016 11:37 PM
Baysidegal
Main
15
06-10-2011 06:20 AM
JMZquilts
Pictures
67
03-09-2011 11:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.