Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Do Quilting Pins Go Bad?

Do Quilting Pins Go Bad?

I've been playing with quilting for 13 years and over the years have discarded pins for feeling dull. I run them through the little strawberry emery pin cushion to "sharpen" them, but that doesn't seem to help. I'm getting frustrated by the amount of pins that suddenly seem dull. I primarily have the yellow-top pins. Should I invest more in pins? Is there a preferred brand that stays sharp?

Any suggestions?

Power Poster
    Yes, pins do get dull over time. When I buy a new package of flower head pins, I only put out half of them. I rarely need a lot of pins and once the first half gets dull, I change them out.

Blog Entries
    we spend so much money on other quilting supplies. In my estimation, replacing pins is not very expensive.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

Sometimes a few pins are dull right out of the box, too.

My favorite thin long pins bend pretty easy. I use them to match up intersections.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

Quote Originally Posted by JustAbitCrazy View Post
    Sometimes a few pins are dull right out of the box, too.
    I personally like the white and red glass head pins because they seem to be a good quality and I can iron right over them if need be, but there are one or two that are dull right out of the box, even with these ones.
    A husband is the perfect confidant to tell your secrets to - he can't reveal them to anyone else because he wasn't really listening when you told him!

Blog Entries