Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do Quilting Pins Go Bad? >

Do Quilting Pins Go Bad?

Do Quilting Pins Go Bad?

Old 12-21-2017, 02:09 PM

Default Do Quilting Pins Go Bad?

I've been playing with quilting for 13 years and over the years have discarded pins for feeling dull. I run them through the little strawberry emery pin cushion to "sharpen" them, but that doesn't seem to help. I'm getting frustrated by the amount of pins that suddenly seem dull. I primarily have the yellow-top pins. Should I invest more in pins? Is there a preferred brand that stays sharp?

Any suggestions?
Old 12-21-2017, 02:12 PM
Power Poster

Yes, pins do get dull over time. When I buy a new package of flower head pins, I only put out half of them. I rarely need a lot of pins and once the first half gets dull, I change them out.
Old 12-21-2017, 02:17 PM
Power Poster

we spend so much money on other quilting supplies. In my estimation, replacing pins is not very expensive.
Old 12-21-2017, 02:37 PM

Sometimes a few pins are dull right out of the box, too.
Old 12-21-2017, 04:10 PM
Power Poster

My favorite thin long pins bend pretty easy. I use them to match up intersections.
Old 12-21-2017, 04:48 PM

Originally Posted by JustAbitCrazy View Post
Sometimes a few pins are dull right out of the box, too.
I personally like the white and red glass head pins because they seem to be a good quality and I can iron right over them if need be, but there are one or two that are dull right out of the box, even with these ones.
Old 12-21-2017, 07:17 PM
Power Poster

i finally broke down and bought a big box of the multi colored daisy heads. half of them were dull right out of the box. frustrating. i could have spent that money on fabric! What is the best pins around? I like long ones the best.
Old 12-21-2017, 08:28 PM