Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Do you know this pattern?

Do you know this pattern?

I am looking for the name of this pattern. When I found it is was called Sonnies Play House. I would like to find a tutorial so that I can make a block.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks. I love that site too. Spend lots of time on it! I looked but it isn't there. I have been trying all day to figure out how to make it. I am new at quilting so I don't know a lot of techniques yet.

It's from the 7/10/1935 issue of the Kansas City Star and the name is Sonnie's Play House, like you said.

It's on point, so if you turn it with the x as a + you could easily figure out how to make it and then just trim it to size. Make sense?
    The Earth without art is just "Eh".

Thank you ghost rider. I think I do understand. I will try it in the morning. It's better than tilting my head to see it. I have drawn many drafts but keep getting confused. I am going to figure it out! I am new at quilting, just a could of months, and have been making blocks of different designs to learn. Having a wonderful time!!

Do you know if I start in the middle and work out? I have been trying to start at the top. I also realized that the points of the triangles will be cut off if I stop there. So I am thinking I have calculated the size of the triangles wrong. The way I have been looking at it there would not be the 1/4 " allowance. Back to the drawing board first thing in the morning!

Watch out for bias edges on the outside of the block. It'd be safer with setting and corner triangles (the outer white pieces), but I'm not sure if that's beyond your skill level right now. The pattern is available, but not by itself...only in books with other KCS block patterns.