Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Do you put a label on your quilts?

Do you put a label on your quilts?

I am finishing up the biggest quilt project that I have ever attempted....and I am thinking about putting a label on the quilts, but I have never done this before. How do you guys put labels on your quilts? I have a short 4 line poem that I wanted to include on the label - - hoping to keep it within 3" square or so. I am considering embroidering the poem and date... then putting the label on the back of the quilt as an applique. Does this seem reasonable? The back of most of the quilts are fleece - can you applique on fleece? What do you guys think?

Blog Entries
    I have sewnsewer2 here on the board machine embroider my labels.
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

Thank you for your reply...not sure that I understand what you are saying. Do you embroider right onto your quilt? Or do you embroider on a separate label and apply that to your quilt? If so, how do you apply? Do you applique or just sew the label on?

I would embroider a label then attach to quilt. I wouldn't want to take away from my quilt.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by meyert View Post
    Thank you for your reply...not sure that I understand what you are saying. Do you embroider right onto your quilt? Or do you embroider on a separate label and apply that to your quilt? If so, how do you apply? Do you applique or just sew the label on?