Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Do you put a label on your quilts? >

Do you put a label on your quilts?

Do you put a label on your quilts?

Old 07-07-2013, 05:04 PM

Default Do you put a label on your quilts?

I am finishing up the biggest quilt project that I have ever attempted....and I am thinking about putting a label on the quilts, but I have never done this before. How do you guys put labels on your quilts? I have a short 4 line poem that I wanted to include on the label - - hoping to keep it within 3" square or so. I am considering embroidering the poem and date... then putting the label on the back of the quilt as an applique. Does this seem reasonable? The back of most of the quilts are fleece - can you applique on fleece? What do you guys think?
Old 07-07-2013, 05:06 PM

I have sewnsewer2 here on the board machine embroider my labels.
Old 07-07-2013, 05:14 PM

Thank you for your reply...not sure that I understand what you are saying. Do you embroider right onto your quilt? Or do you embroider on a separate label and apply that to your quilt? If so, how do you apply? Do you applique or just sew the label on?
Old 07-07-2013, 05:15 PM

I would embroider a label then attach to quilt. I wouldn't want to take away from my quilt.
Old 07-07-2013, 05:19 PM

Originally Posted by meyert View Post
Thank you for your reply...not sure that I understand what you are saying. Do you embroider right onto your quilt? Or do you embroider on a separate label and apply that to your quilt? If so, how do you apply? Do you applique or just sew the label on?