Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Does anyone have an opinion on viking designer se embroidery machine

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    466

    Does anyone have an opinion on viking designer se embroidery machine

    My lqs has a sale on "previously loved machines" including the viking se sewing/embroidery machine. Icurrently have a viking D1 which i love. My nephews wife would love to enter the quilting world as she has a 2 yr. old son and 10 days ago was blessed with a new daughter. I am considering purchasing the machine to introduce her to quilting and then move on to embroidery. I would appreciate any input/opinions you may have. My lqs is somewhere i spend a lot of time and money and they are reputable and offer free classes with the purchase of this machine and are always just a phone call away to answer any questions i have..........thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,416
    Blog Entries
    1
    I bought my Viking Ruby last fall and love it. It is so easy to use and I really enjoy the embrodery part as well; to the point that I keep my Kenmore set up still so that if I need to embroidery and quilt/sew at the same time I can do it. The LQS should offer free classes and embroidery club. The one that I go to does and then she'll add some additional classes when there is something we really want to learn. For me and several others it was the cutwork needles; love, love them. Now my next request above the monthly class is the endless hoop. I have it and want to create. There is one machine out after mine but is alot more. It only has one hoop that I can' use but the Ruby has a lot of different hoops and sizes to use. If you can get a deal on the Ruby I'd go with it because it offers alot more especially when you get into the embroidery part of it. My dealer has told me that many times because she has the designer. Good luck on your purchase. And way to go to help someone else tap into their creative side by getting into quilting.
    Judy

  3. #3
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    5,017
    Blog Entries
    6
    I bought a used diamond from the dealer I have dealt with for years and it is a wonderful machine. I also had a used SE from them. I have not had any trouble but I know if I do they will take care of it.

  4. #4
    Super Member patski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    2,109
    Blog Entries
    9
    I have a Viking that was used and have added another 8 years onto it. It works great. I think the Vikings are great for embroidery & quiltings
    Patski
    always learning

  5. #5
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11,157
    Blog Entries
    2
    Love my SE. I also have a really old Designer I. The thing that's nice is that the SE has a USB port, so you can more easily transfer designs. My D1 has a floppy drive. The other thing I've noticed with the SEs is that they are really quiet. With sleeping babies this may be a plus.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,891
    Blog Entries
    5
    I started with a Viking #1+, then got a D1 (which I hated), then an SE, then a Diamond. My #1+ A cassette has cracked which is a tragedy as it means someday it will die. In the meantime the SE is my second favorite - it is so easy to learn to use and has so many options. I think she will love the SE and will be overwhelmed by your generosity!
    Cherylsea

  7. #7
    Super Member Divokittysmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,998
    I think the SE would be a great purchase!! I began with the Rose (didn't care for it) then upgraded to the #1+, the my first D1 (lemon) and finally was replaced with one of the last non USB D1 ESS. I LOVE my (2nd) D1 it has never given me one problem. My #1+ is a work horse, my dd has it...I used to teach machine embroidery and software classes. Most of my class moved up to the SE when it came out and loved it!! The lighting system was a great imporvement!! I only upgraded to my Babylock Ellisimo to get the USB capabilities and larger hoops. I know the SE has a great reputation and the USB capability. I would say 2 thumbs up on your purchase.
    ~Sheriann~💖 BabyLock Ellisimo 💖 Husqvarna Viking Designet 1ESS 💖 BabyLock Imagine 💖 Janome Jem Platinum 760 ♥ Beloved Gram's 1924 Singer Treadle 💖 1937 & 1953 Singer Featherweights #IAMSEWBLESSED ♥

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,416
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Cherylsea View Post
    I started with a Viking #1+, then got a D1 (which I hated), then an SE, then a Diamond. My #1+ A cassette has cracked which is a tragedy as it means someday it will die. In the meantime the SE is my second favorite - it is so easy to learn to use and has so many options. I think she will love the SE and will be overwhelmed by your generosity!
    You can pick these cassettes up on sale on ebay in case you want to replace yours. The #1 is a great machine.
    Judy

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Clayton, Indiana
    Posts
    240
    I have an SE that I bought used when the diamond came out. I love the features of this machine. I have a 1/4" stitch in my favorites that is exactly right for me and the foot I like to use. I find this feature wonderful. I like the large screen on it because as I get older I notice I can't see those little ones anymore. I don't think you could go wrong with it.
    DonnaR
    Grammy to Isaiah and Ruth

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.