Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Dog walked on my unfinished quilt..help!! >

Dog walked on my unfinished quilt..help!!

Dog walked on my unfinished quilt..help!!

Old 12-01-2020, 11:45 AM

Exclamation Dog walked on my unfinished quilt..help!!

Hello guys!
So I was in my craft room floor pinning my quilt top to the backing and my husband let the dogs back into the house. One of the dogs came running in and walked right down the middle with muddy paws (i cried alot)! Is there any way i can clean the top quilt before finishing it, because some of the spots i need to sew has mud and didnt want it stuck.. please help! Im new to the quilting world and I'm getting discouraged! Thanks in advance!

Sara
Old 12-01-2020, 12:14 PM

Hey Sara, these things happen. And typically when we are on a deadline or when things just aren't going so well and everything was perfect and dainty until great huge doggy footprints messed everything up....

Many people call a top a "flimsy" because that is what it is, very flimsy and fragile. Unless there are actual bodily fluids like pee or barf (I'm looking at you, cat), I would gently blot as much up as you can while damp and then let it dry and brush off as much as possible.

Once you get the top quilted together and well stabilized, that is the time to wash even if you don't usually wash your quilts.

If you decide you absolutely positively have to wash things before quilting down, put small amounts in lingerie bags or pillow cases. Take out while damp and do what you can to straighten them out, maybe air fluff for a bit. Then I would take them damp and layout a towel on my ironing board and press them (being careful not to stretch) flat and dry.
Old 12-01-2020, 01:06 PM
Power Poster