Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Embroidered VS. Written quilt labels...your opinions!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member QuilterMomOf3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Tulare, CA
    Posts
    199

    Embroidered VS. Written quilt labels...your opinions!!

    I recently misplaced my quilt labeling pen...So I've taken up a needle & embroidering floss to make up for it...

    What are your opinions about either, or both?
    "Some people have bunches of WIPs (works in progress) and UFOs (unfinished objects)....I prefer to think of them as PhDs (Projects Half Done)!!" ~Elena Boen
    "Just keep in mind that your function here is to have fun and not to be someone else's interior decorator! So ... go forth and have fun!" ~Krystyna
    I cannot count my day complete 'til needle, thread and fabric meet.

  2. #2
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    7,021
    Blog Entries
    1
    I always think embroidery looks nicer, but I resort to the pen out of laziness.

  3. #3
    Super Member jcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Posts
    2,783
    Blog Entries
    7
    Embroidery beats out pen by far, but pen is way easier.
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

  4. #4
    Super Member MartiMorga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Springville, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,119
    Embroidery has my vote - of course now that I have an embroidery machine, I really love the label possibilities.
    God Bless Quilters and Sewers
    Marti

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    773
    What kind of pen?
    http://www.thingsthatarenotperfect.blogspot.com/

  6. #6
    Super Member SherriB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quilting somewhere......
    Posts
    2,850
    Blog Entries
    40
    Pen for me. I am horrible at embroidery and don't have an embroidery machine. But if I did have an embroidery machine, I would choose an embroidered label.
    Sherri

  7. #7
    Super Member quilts4charity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Albany, Georgia
    Posts
    1,686
    Yep, embroidery machine = embroidered labels...love it!!!!

  8. #8
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,755
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a machine for labels now, but before, I would usually either stamp it on in fabric paint (I have a stamp of my signature) or I would embroider it by hand. I have trouble handwriting nicely on fabric, even if it is ironed onto freezer paper. I did always hand write the date though. I use a Copic multiliner.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Polly C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    182
    I don't use either. I compose my labels on the computer & print them out on photo fabric. Years ago I printed them out on paper and traced them with a light box. That way no problem with my handwriting!!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    816
    My handwriting is terrible. I machine embroider my labels. It's nice because it means I can write dissertations for the label, not just a line or two.

  11. #11
    Super Member marymm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,739
    As long as you do a read-able label, you're doing great --- at least that's my opinion. I have done them by pen, by computer and by embroidery. I've never heard a complaint!

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,392
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MartiMorga View Post
    Embroidery has my vote - of course now that I have an embroidery machine, I really love the label possibilities.
    Ditto on this one. When I did my DGD quilt label I added a cat because she loves animals. There are tons of possiblilities when you have an emb machine.
    Judy

  13. #13
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,500
    Quote Originally Posted by MartiMorga View Post
    Embroidery has my vote - of course now that I have an embroidery machine, I really love the label possibilities.
    My thoughts exactly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.