Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
External Bobbin Winder for a Viking >

External Bobbin Winder for a Viking

External Bobbin Winder for a Viking

Old 08-27-2018, 10:50 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Default External Bobbin Winder for a Viking

Does an external Bobbin Winder for a Viking even exist? I'm thinking like the Sidewinders. They all say it will wind everything but a Viking. Now that my winder has quit for the second time (I don't think they replaced it like they said they did!) how am I to wind bobbins?
Grammahunt is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 01:56 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,239
Default

Maybe someone will pop in with a less expensive option, but the only one I've found that will wind the green Viking bobbins is this one (which I highly recommend)
http://fancyquilt.com/product/bobbin-winder/
Probably less expensive to have it repaired
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 10:50 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Default

I have never seen this product. Thank you. I did order one because I have so many machines (and frequently use) that take 4 different size bobbins. Not only may this be a life altering experience in the quilt room, it is unfortunately less expensive than having my machine (not) fixed again. Once again I thank you and hope I remember to update this message when I receive the bobbin winder.
Grammahunt is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 11:20 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,239
Default

I recommended this earlier this year and the gal who ordered it had a good experience
https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f...r-t298403.html
I hope you like it too! I had one, but when I got my new handi quilter a stand alone winder came with it so I sold my fancy quilt one to my cousin. I really wish I had kept that one & sold the handi quilter winder.

Last edited by PaperPrincess; 08-28-2018 at 11:23 AM.
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 01:48 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 972
Default

Has anyone tried this one?
I have found it online in many different places for a wide range of prices. (It has been discontinued on Amazon...not sure why...not enough buyers? Don't know).

Ebay:https://www.ebay.com/p/Automatic-Bob...2303997&chn=ps

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Axis-Automa...-/192458534327

Wally:https://www.walmart.com/ip/110V-Auto...-Off/746780833

edit: I did find this review/ discussion: https://sewing.patternreview.com/Sew...s/topic/107692

I've seen it priced from $29 up to $67...with and without the attachable thread stand.

Last edited by mindless; 08-28-2018 at 01:50 PM.
mindless is offline  
Old 08-29-2018, 08:25 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ridgefield WA
Posts: 7,631
Default

Look at the price!!! Got to be something less expensive that will work for your machine. Grammahunt, can you call
Viking customer service and ask them? Then let us know, please!
Kitsie is offline  
Old 08-29-2018, 09:01 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 372
Default

All things considered I love the idea of this winder. Since I have many different machines and use many different size bobbins it may save me a lot of time and exasperation. Expensive, yes. Worth it, maybe. I'll let you know.
Grammahunt is offline  
Old 08-29-2018, 02:09 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Upper Northern California
Posts: 229
Default

I'm just reading thru these messages and happy to see Paper Princess hyperlinked my earlier response. I have wound so many bobbins and I am truly glad to own this machine. It is an amazing machine and I have no regrets for this purchase. I still fell so very good about supporting a Mom and Pop operation.
Still Sew N is offline  
Old 08-29-2018, 06:22 PM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 7,150
Default

Question for those that own this winder - would it work to put a smaller spool on the winder? Sometimes I wind thread from a large spool onto several smaller spools for use with the serger. I've been hooking them to an electric drill to get the job done and would love to use a winder instead.
Macybaby is offline  
Old 08-30-2018, 01:01 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Upper Northern California
Posts: 229
Default

The folks at quiltingboard.com would be the very best source to go to and ask this question. I contacted them a few times before I made my purchase and they are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful.
Still Sew N is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
EllieGirl
Main
15
01-25-2013 08:44 AM
Dina
Main
16
12-28-2011 06:31 PM
Nanamoms
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
6
07-27-2011 09:44 PM
middysmom
Main
14
03-22-2008 04:42 AM
Extreme Quilter
Links and Resources
4
10-29-2007 04:32 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.