Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
FMQ Fears >

FMQ Fears

FMQ Fears

Old 04-22-2018, 05:19 AM

Default FMQ Fears

Good Morning! Board members. I've been quilting (heavily) for some 15 years. Many times I will send my quilts to a long armer to have them quilted. However, at age 80 I find that it is difficult to make large quilts so I am making lap quilts or twin sizes and FMQ on my domestic Brothers machine.

I'm working on the last of 3 quilts that I am making for a good friend's daughters. He died tragically in September and left behind a wife and a 3 year old, a 12 year old and a 22 year old. They are lovely girls. I'm just FMQ the last quilt.

I spent, at least, 3 days fretting over a pattern to FMQ on this last quilt. I am not a great FMQer and I'm not a fan of heavy quilting but realize that it is essential to cover as many seams as possible. (I have had to repair 2 of my gifted quilts.)

This quilt has a great deal of white in it and I was terrified to mark it.

So with fear and trepidation, I made a large "practice piece" and drew many designs and started my FMQ practice. Well, I am amazed at how much this has helped me set my pedal speed and hand movement speed. (Normally, I have just practiced on a small block-size piece.) The FMQ is going so much better.

I am using white thread and for the first time am using Magnifico (100% polyester) from Superior Threads. I am in love with this thread. It is #40 and it has a beautiful sheen to it. It makes my FMQ look so much better.