Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Free Motion Quilting Problem! Please help! >

Free Motion Quilting Problem! Please help!

Free Motion Quilting Problem! Please help!

Old 07-09-2020, 07:48 AM

Smile Free Motion Quilting Problem! Please help!

Hello!!!! My name is Dawn and I am a self taught quilter! I have been having problems with my free motion quilting presser feet. I have one with a spring and one for rulers. Whenever I attach either one of them and begin stitching, the needle goes through the fabric but does not make a stitch. The stitches are not be completed. Whenever I change to another presser foot like my 1/4 in presser foot, the machine stitches perfectly. I have no clue what is going on and any help will be much appreciated.

I have looked through my manual for troubleshooting. I have threaded my machine correctly. I have changed to new needles. I have lowered the feed dogs and set stitching to one which is the lowest. I have cleaned my machine out. I have changed thread. I have changed the presser foot tension. I bought the presser feet from Amazon and all the reviews said they were compatible with my machine and worked perfectly. My machine is a brother PQ1500SL. I have no clue what is happening!

Thank you for your time and help in advance!
Old 07-09-2020, 08:01 AM

Welcome to the QB from SE Michigan first of all! I have the Brothers 1500se. They are similar machines. I have been having trouble with the tension on my machine and have a similar problem right now. So for right now I have stopped trying to do anything. I even had t he machine services and use only Brother's parts. It is quite the quandary. One other problem I discovered was that my frame was not level and that makes a big difference. With all the things you have tried my next call would be to their tech support service. They were very helpful to me even though now I know it is in my setup.