Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Fusible appliqué advice needed >

Fusible appliqué advice needed

Fusible appliqué advice needed

Old 10-20-2014, 06:58 AM

Default Fusible appliqué advice needed

I'm new to applique, and I could use some advice about this small wallhanging. Pumpkins, leaves, vines have all been all fused down, and some of the "bits" are tiny (leaf veins, lines on pumpkins). Do I need to appliqués stitch these all down? Maybe just the pumpkins, for the look of it, or maybe nothing? If I don't intend to wash this, is it necessary?

If not, does anyone have any ideas for the quilting, bearing in mind I'm new to that too!

Thanks for any advice/ideas you guys might have.
Attached Thumbnails img_0960.jpg  
Old 10-20-2014, 07:03 AM
Power Poster

That is lovely! It is up to you if you don't intend to wash it but it would be a shame if some of the pieces came off. I think I might use one of the new invisible threads to do a tiny blanket or zig zag stitch on the edges.
You could also do your quilt sandwich and do a straight stitch through the center of the stems and at the edge of all the pieces to both secure everything and quilt it at the same time.
Old 10-20-2014, 07:08 AM
Power Poster

I would use a matching thread using a small buttonhole stitch of you have it. Fusible doesn't always hold things in place. Cute quilt.
Old 10-20-2014, 07:08 AM

Beautiful!! I would definitely do some stitching on everything, it would be ashame to have the tiny pieces come off.
Old 10-20-2014, 07:19 AM
Power Poster

i agree with the others. great quilt!
Old 10-20-2014, 07:30 AM