Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help! Before I go any further on my Marimekko quilt >

Help! Before I go any further on my Marimekko quilt

Help! Before I go any further on my Marimekko quilt

Old 05-22-2016, 09:37 AM

Default Help! Before I go any further on my Marimekko quilt

I am posting this separate from the photo thread so you can help me decide if I need to start over.

I am a novice at sewing and quilting, so stitch length, needle size, etc. remains a mystery, but I know it is all important to having a nice finished quilt.

I am building disappearing four patch blocks for my quilt, using Marimekko fabric. Marimekko has about three weights in their cottons. The prints I like the most are of the medium weight. However, the white fabric I bought is a little lighter weight. I'm not sure if this is my problem, though.

I washed all of the fabric before cutting the squares. After cutting the squares, I ironed them using spray sizing. Also, I used my new AccuQuilt Go. I think I tried cutting too many layers of fabric because the squares are not equal, like I hoped they would be. Not too big a problem, since I purposely made bigger blocks and will cut them down to equal size before I begin to sew them together.

As you can see by the pictures, the white fabric doesn't lay flat. What am I doing wrong? Do I need to adjust a setting on my machine? I try not to push or pull the fabric as it sews, but if I was guessing, that is what I am doing.

Should I iron them using spray starch?

Should I buy a heavier weight white cotton?

I appreciate your suggestions.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]550544[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]550545[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails 2016-05-22-10-53-25-0500.jpg   2016-05-22-10-51-08-0500.jpg  
Old 05-22-2016, 10:07 AM
Power Poster

You might try that. I have never used anything but standard 100% cotton fabric but I think you have thought up a good suggestion. Good Luck.
Old 05-22-2016, 10:46 AM
Power Poster