Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help with flying geese block >

Help with flying geese block

Help with flying geese block

Old 02-17-2013, 07:13 AM

Default Help with flying geese block

Hi, I am fairly new at quilting...I have sewn three quilts, all relatively easy on a scale of beginner to difficult.... I went out yesterday and purchased the fabric to star a quilt called Stars Ablaze. I found the pattern in a BHG quilt book....when I chose the pattern I thought it was just squares and triangles, which I have done in the past...however when I got home and really read through the directions, I am panicking.....one of the blocks is a Flying Geese block.....is there some reason why I can't just use two triangles to make the square and just piece then together accordingly....I will try to do one but I was just wondering and to be honest just afraid to try something new with such an expensive bunch of fabric??

thanks
Old 02-17-2013, 07:29 AM
Power Poster

Yes you can do have square triangles. I too hated flying geese until I bought Deb Tucker's flying geese ruler. It makes helps make the perfect flying geese.
Old 02-17-2013, 07:33 AM

Try a few on scrap fabrics first before you cut into the good stuff. I am in the exact same boat, and even bought a special ruler, but it won't work for the project that I have in mind, so I'll practice a few first so I can get the hang of it - or not
Old 02-17-2013, 07:35 AM

What about buying some cheap fabric or using some leftovers and giving them a try. One thing I learned from here is to starch them well before you start so you don't stretch. I had trouble at first but tried this method, it was the easiest for me but now I can do the regular way, I think I followed a Fon's and Porter tute or it might have been Jennie from Missouri Quilt. You can do it!

http://www.quiltingboard.com/tutoria...s-t180442.html
Old 02-17-2013, 08:45 AM