Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
help! I"m new to quilting... >

help! I"m new to quilting...

help! I"m new to quilting...

Old 01-19-2024, 03:54 AM

Default help! I"m new to quilting...

Good morning everyone! I'm new to the quilting board and brand new to quilting. My daughter is a senior in high school and I'd like to make her a t-shirt quilt before she graduates in May. I have never made a quilt before in my life and I'm up for the challenge. Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch!
Old 01-19-2024, 04:28 AM

Welcome to the board. I've never done a t-shirt quilt, but have seen other threads from those who have. There is a search feature where you can search for a particular theme. That being said, t-shirt material is a pain to work with so you might want to stabilize the shirts with a stiff interfacing prior to assembling the top.

Shari
Old 01-19-2024, 04:32 AM

Welcome! I made a tutorial.https://www.quiltingboard.com/vbulle...s-t311703.html
Old 01-19-2024, 05:36 AM

Welcome to the board. Remember our motto: finished is better than perfect. And know your daughter will love it because you took the time to make it for her. And good for you to be planning and starting now instead of the week before graduation!
Old 01-19-2024, 07:50 AM

Aashley333 gives some great directions and suggestions.

You should know that many of us don't like to do t-shirt quilts for a number of reasons. It may not be the best introduction to quilting but you are doing it with love and that makes a big difference

I prefer to border each t-shirt block with woven cotton quilting fabric and make consistent sized blocks. Not near as interesting as Aashley's "jigsaw" design but easier for my mind to comprehend and for me lets work with more variation in the t-shirts colors and shapes and such.