Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
HELP!  I think  I've goofed.....badly! >

HELP! I think I've goofed.....badly!

HELP! I think I've goofed.....badly!

Old 12-20-2010, 08:11 PM

Here is the red and white quilt top and back that I got in such a hurry to make. I DID NOT pre-wash all that red fabric :cry: Now that it is ready to sandwich and quilt, it dawned on me that I will probably end up with a pink and red quilt....or worse yet....a pinkish marbled and red quilt.
Do you think if I throw in a box or two of that color catcher (or whatever it is called) it will "catch" all that red when I wash it??? Should I wash it first, then sandwich and quilt?What to do? What to do? :?:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]146245[/ATTACH]

back
[ATTACH=CONFIG]146246[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-146240.jpe   attachment-146241.jpe  
Old 12-20-2010, 08:14 PM

I'm a newbie so I don't know, but I had to write and tell you I think it is a GORGEOUS quilt!!!!
David
Old 12-20-2010, 08:14 PM

I wouldn't wash it before sandwiching it or you'll create a huge mess at all your seams. Put it together and then throw a few color catchers in. Red fabrics are much better today than they have been in years past, so you might be all right.
Old 12-20-2010, 08:17 PM
Power Poster

You could be just fine. I've used a lot of red fabrics that haven't bled at all.

What I would recommend at this point is that you make the quilt, then plan on washing it in a large washing machine with Synthrapol (sold in quilt shops and online, including Amazon). You want the largest washing machine you can get to ensure there is plenty of water to dilute any bleeds. If it does bleed, you may need to wash several times to make sure all excess dye is gone.

The color catcher sheets are good, but they cannot handle huge bleeds. Even Synthrapol may not completely handle a huge bleed, but at least it will minimize the bleed plus subsequent washings (don't dry in-between if there are any bleeds) will gradually remove any mild bleeds.