Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help! - Juki HZL F-300 >

Help! - Juki HZL F-300

Help! - Juki HZL F-300

Old 09-22-2018, 08:44 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Default Help! - Juki HZL F-300

I have a new Juki HZL F-300. I am sewing a straight stitch using the automatic thread cutter. I have checked the threading on both the thread and the bobbin numerous times. I have changed the needle several times.
Issue: the threads nest at the end of my seam. Both threads cut but the thread somehow threads itself through the fabric twice and I end up with a tail. So every time I start a seam there is a long thread from the thread itself.
I hope I explained this well. Does anyone have suggestions on how to solve the problem?
Evvie2 is offline  
Old 09-22-2018, 08:53 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
bjchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southern New Jersey USA
Posts: 1,473
Default

Use a leader. That is, a small piece of waste fabric to start your seam, then sew off onto your actual seam.
bjchad is offline  
Old 09-22-2018, 11:06 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
tallchick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,320
Default

A photo would help
tallchick is offline  
Old 09-22-2018, 11:54 AM
  #4  
Moderator
 
QuiltnNan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
Posts: 51,433
Default

I have an F600. Yes, that is the way the cutter works. I often use it during my quilting. Then I have to go back and cut off those tails. I just consider it part of the process. Come to think of it, I had a different machine with a cutter, and it did the same thing.
__________________
Nancy in western NY
before you speak T.H.I.N.K. T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?
Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.
QuiltnNan is offline  
Old 09-23-2018, 03:02 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 57
Default

Just a thought. . . When I use three of the upper loops to thread my machine, my needle unthreads when I use the cutter, so maybe the number of upper thread loops has something to do with the length of the thread cut?
Vinnie is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Patricia Drew
Main
10
05-06-2020 06:13 PM
anorton
Main
2
01-29-2013 07:36 AM
tatavw01
Main
3
02-29-2012 07:18 AM
Owllady
Main
1
10-02-2011 01:57 PM
RitaFaye
Main
3
07-17-2011 01:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.