Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Help me please with the basics

Help me please with the basics

I am new to quilting yet, i really didnt even start yet. I need help with the basics on it. I know how to hand sew a litle its been a while though.
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 09-04-2012 at 08:06 AM. Reason: clarify title to reflect contents

Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Start with a small project. Maybe a potholder. Look at www.quilterscache.com for a block pattern you like. They are rated by difficulty.

Most important is to remember quilting uses a 1/4 inch seam. The smaller the pieces the more acuracy is needed. Start with large blocks to get the hang of it. Biggest tip is to just relax and enjoy the process.

Is there a guild you could join? Or a quilt store that offers classes? I was lucky enough to find both, and it really helps to have instruction and to meet other quilters.

I would invest in a book that covers all the ins and outs of quilting. It will give you a good foundation to start with.
    Also, look at the tips page on this forum for some good information. One thing that I have learned recently (and I have been quilting for a few years, and have made a good 2 handsful of quilts) is the use of starch. I never used to use it too much, but as I have used it more, my results have been better. I also , as cjsews said, pay more attention to my 1/4 inch seam allowance.
    Enjoy, don't be too hard on yourself, and keep learning. Gina

Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Blog Entries
    I would take a beginner's quilting class. That would pretty much teach you everything you need to know to get started.
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."