Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Help me quick!!!

I was just putting the binding on my neices quilt for her baby shower tomorrow and my husband thought he would be helpful and bring me a diet coke. Long story short he spilled some of it on the quilt in a large area. I ran it up to the washer immediately even though the binding wasn't done and threw it in but it isn't washing out. I pulled it out after the wash cycle and it still was there so now I have it soaking. Anyone out there know what I should wash it in to get the coke out?

Blog Entries
    Oxyclean

Diet Coke should not have left a stain. Was there anything else with it?

I agree with Oxyclean, or maybe try vinegar or club soda.

Blog Entries
    I found poroxide has been great on alot. I am not good with oxy because it took out the color

Diet coke, diet pepsi, any thing with that carmel color will stain. I agree with Murphy but if that doesn't work maybe shout or goop (used to clean hands with, I use it for everything!)

It was just diet coke in a glass with ice. I thought that since I flew up the stairs and got it in the water right away that it would just rinse out but it didn't. Of course the back is white with pastel polka dots so it shows really well. It kind of sprayed across half the quilt! I did put a little laundry soap in the washer perhaps that set the stain? I am going up right now to see if I have any Oxy clean . I just want to scream.

Seems to me there have been alot of helpful dear husband posts on here...that cause something to be spilled on quilt projects or have washed a quilt that they shouldn't have. If it were my situation , I would lock the sewing door and make the sewing area off limits to everyone.