Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help! My FIRST hand pieced quilt tip is stained from the markings >

Help! My FIRST hand pieced quilt tip is stained from the markings

Help! My FIRST hand pieced quilt tip is stained from the markings

Old 01-30-2012, 05:57 PM
Banned

Default Help! My FIRST hand pieced quilt tip is stained from the markings

Hi,

Please help. I just finished marking my quilt with a sew line pencil with green lead (on a white background.) when I tried to erase the markings, they wouldn't come off. Then I used cold water, and now I have gray stains in places, and left over green lines in other spots. This is my first time trying to quilt a top. What have I done wrong and how do I if it?
Old 01-30-2012, 06:30 PM

I use the green pencil all the time but I don't try to remove the marks until I sandwich and bind my quilt, then I just throw it in the washer and the marks come out. Are you trying to get them out before you finish the quilt? I know that that eraser never worked for me.
Old 01-30-2012, 06:49 PM
Power Poster

I have never used that kind of pencil so I would follow virtualbernie's advice since she has experience with that pencil. For other pencil markings, it is sometimes helpful if you have a piece of the same background fabric, to mark a scrap and then try different things to remove the markings. Hopefully your marks will come out when you wash the whole quilt like advised. Good luck.
Old 01-31-2012, 12:02 PM