Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help with my Janome Please...I hope it's an easy question.+ a bit of a rant >

Help with my Janome Please...I hope it's an easy question.+ a bit of a rant

Help with my Janome Please...I hope it's an easy question.+ a bit of a rant

Old 05-21-2010, 05:34 PM

Shank question, with a little background....

We moved back up here from OK 2 years ago, and 2 1/2 years before that we moved from here down to OK and I can't remember if I had my machine a year or 2 before we moved...so I've had this machine approx. 5-6 years ago I graduated from an elementary Walmart machine to a Janome 415. It's a very basic machine, but it has and continues to meet all/most of my needs. The ONLY thing I would change is it doesn't have a blanket stitch....wow am I off topic...

Anyway, I don't know what shank it is. Apparently there is a hi-lo shank? I am completely self-taught...few books, mostly trial and error. When I bought the machine I knew I wanted a walking foot and a quarter in foot. The dealer sold me a package of a darning foot (FMQ?), walking foot, quarter inch foot and some other thing I don't know what it is cause I've never used it.

Anyway, over time I almost entirely use only my 1/4in foot. I have learned I don't like to lose my walking foot so it fits very nicely in the little cubby inside my machine.

Somewhere, in the last 5 years, between 2 moves from NE to OK and back, I have lost a box of my sewing things. In it contained my late mother's button holer dohinky from Singer ages and ages ago that I'll never use, but it was my moms and I didn't want to part with it. When I packed that box, knowing I would get back to it someday, I packed my Janome owner's manual, the open toed foot, the attachments that came with the machine I've never used, like some button holer foot and gauges and stuff, and some other stuff I can't remember....probably mom's eyelet lace ribbon...there I go digressing again.