Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help with new Janome Horizon >

Help with new Janome Horizon

Help with new Janome Horizon

Old 06-10-2013, 03:10 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sheliab12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 166
Default Help with new Janome Horizon

I posted this question before but have not seen it on here so will try again. I just bought used Janome 7700 and it won't let the pressure foot come down to throat plate. The lever goes up two levels but at the lowest level it is way off the plate. Will not reach fabric. It runs but foot is still up too far. Any thing I am missing. I will probably bite the bullet and take it in but I hate to be told that I missed a simple step somewhere. The dual foot attachment is on it but don't see where it tells me to take it off when I am not using it. Thanks .
sheliab12 is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 03:17 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
MamaHen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Florida
Posts: 976
Default

If the back duel foot attachment is under your pressure foot, you need to remove it. Lift your pressure foot to the highest position, then slightly pull down, swing the attachment back & up out of your way. It won't go all the way up and you'll still see it behind your pressure foot. You only need to use that attachment when you put on the dual feed foot. I hope this helps. Did you get a manual with the machine?

In further reading of your post, maybe I misunderstood what you were describing- are your attaching the dual feed foot to your machine? That piece (if I understand you) goes UNDERNEATH the dual feed foot. By it's self it will not work, it is what makes the dual feed foot work as a even feed, or walking foot.

Last edited by MamaHen; 06-10-2013 at 03:23 AM. Reason: additional info
MamaHen is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 04:33 AM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,235
Default

previous post on this topic: http://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1...n-t223083.html
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 01:05 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 2,135
Default

Which foot do you have on your machine? Does it do it with all your different feet?
woody is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 03:52 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sheliab12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 166
Default

That was the problem. I had used my old adapter for the snap on feet and it was not long enough. If I would have put on one of the direct screw on feet I would have seen the difference. The Horizon adapter is much longer. It was a cheap fix though. I was getting nervous.
sheliab12 is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 04:10 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 2,135
Default

Glad you got it sorted
woody is offline  
Old 06-10-2013, 05:12 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
acjacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 155
Default

There is nothing wrong with going to an authorized Janome dealer and ask for guidance as to what could be wrong with the machine. You will save yourself headache by learning the proper way to use the attachments and how to run the machine.
I have a Janome 1600P for three years now, and when it started acting up I brought it to be serviced - right there and then the technician pointed out what was going wrong and showed me how to properly thread it and the correct needles to use.
acjacques is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
littlelambseativy
Main
5
01-04-2017 08:53 AM
sheliab12
Main
6
06-10-2013 10:14 AM
azure68
Main
32
03-09-2013 08:36 PM
bailey
Main
9
09-15-2011 11:13 AM
connie d
Main
14
08-02-2011 01:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.