Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help this newbie please.. >

Help this newbie please..

Help this newbie please..

Old 05-01-2012, 07:04 AM

Default Help this newbie please..

anyone experienced with fabric panels? I bought a birdhouse panel 30 x 40" and dont know how to add to it for a small (approx 45 x 65) quilt. I consider adding wider top and bottom borders than the side borders. I have matching printed fabric and several solid colors I can use. Would it look too out of porportion? I've used pencil and paper to try making a design and it always comes out wider than I want if I use same size borders all around....I'd truly appreciate your help.

I'm a 70 yr old newbie and dont have a clue on putting colors and patterns together.
Old 05-01-2012, 07:16 AM

Welcome from Milwaukee. You don't have to use the same size borders all the way around. Add your narrow borders all the way around to make your 45 inches, then add some pieced lines top and bottom to make your 65 inches. It will look great. Just remember, it's your quilt. Do what you want and have fun.
Old 05-01-2012, 07:27 AM

Location: Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho

Glad to hear your quilting! I see your problem. I have had the same problem. If I were you I would do what Christine said and add a narrow border first around your panel and then add wide borders to the side and narrow ones to the top. They don't have to match. In fact, the size of each of the side borders don't have to be the same size. That's just my opinion. You'll get lots of opinions. Welcome to the best place for quilters!
Old 05-01-2012, 07:48 AM

You might try piecing some simple blocks (maybe 9 patch) and adding those to the top and bottom - then add borders. It is really up to you. I've done "uneven" borders and had great results.

Hope you post a picture for us to enjoy!!!
Old 05-01-2012, 07:55 AM

Welcome from Texas. I agree with what Christine told you, that would make a very pretty quilt.