Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help!! Pfaff passport and Bernina Barnnet >

Help!! Pfaff passport and Bernina Barnnet

Help!! Pfaff passport and Bernina Barnnet

Old 07-27-2017, 06:35 AM

Default Help!! Pfaff passport and Bernina Barnnet

Hi, quilters!! I'm an art student and Korean traditional quilter, (Kyubang sewing). It requires only hand sewing strictly, but I decided to buy a sewing machine for some stitches and some other art projects.
Mostly, I use very small pieces and thin one to four layers of silk or Korean ramie-fabrics which are complicated and fastidious for machine sewing. I know some Korean experts use industrial machines but it's too huge and heavy for me.

According to my research, Pfaff and Bernina are quite good for flimsy fabrics and have good stitch qualities. I really want to have auto thread cutter and nice stitch quality. I'm not into decorative stitches or other features, but I do want to have a beautiful stitch for a plain stitch.

So, I wanted to try Pfaff Passport 3.0 and Bernina Bernnet B38. They both have auto thread cutter. They're light weight. Not super big! Not really sure about Bernnet because I've rarely heard about Bernnet in the forum. But Bernina 5 or 7 series with thread cutter will be too expensive for me. (If the dealer has affordable option like second handed, then I can try!) My problem is I really need to check if the machines works for my fabrics IN PERSON. But it's really hard to find a dealer who have both Pfaff and Bernina.

I live in Baltimore, and I don't have a driving license, so I cannot drive far away. But if I can find any place that I can travel via bus or train. I will!! I appreciate for any advices because I know nothing about quilting or buying materials in US. Let me try them and get my sewing-best-friend!

Last edited by kyubang; 07-27-2017 at 06:49 AM.
Old 07-27-2017, 06:52 AM
Power Poster

can't help with the machines, but
Welcome from western NY and happy quilting
Old 07-27-2017, 07:44 AM