Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help!!!!!!!!!!!! >

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 02-25-2013, 02:17 PM

Default Help!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm new to machine quilting, and I've been practicing my meandering for awhile with quilting thread. Well I finally decided to go ahead and quilt my wall hanging and I am using monofiliment. Well, my thread broke. What does a person do when your thread breaks? And on top of that when I turned it over I found a threads nest. That had happen awhile before the thread broke. The thread nest happened then the stitches went back to normal, then the top thread broke awhile later. What caused that? I never had any problems with the quilting thread, is it the monofiliment? Is there a certain way you have to set up your machine for the monofiliment and if so, what is it. I would really appreciate any help you could give me.
Old 02-25-2013, 02:24 PM

First check your bobbin area for any lint. Especially the bobbin holder itself sometimes a tiny piece of lint gets in there and messes everything up. Then check the tension both top and bottom. Monofliment is kinda stretchy, it has some give to it like fishing line. Make sure the needle is sharp.

I just seen your post count.....666..........lol..........keep your cooties on your side of the sewing room...LOL
Old 02-25-2013, 02:28 PM
Power Poster