Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How to Adjust Needle Position....Brother CS6000i >

How to Adjust Needle Position....Brother CS6000i

How to Adjust Needle Position....Brother CS6000i

Old 04-10-2013, 01:55 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Sew_Silly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 26
Talking How to Adjust Needle Position....Brother CS6000i

Decided to take a break from cutting fabric today and work on adjusting my machine for a scant 1/4" using the following tutorial:
http://www.seamstobeyouandme.com/201...rfect-14-seam/

According to the manual for the Brother CS-6000i I should be able to adjust needle position left or right using straight stitch 00 (left needle position) by pressing the "+" or "-" side of the stitch width adjustment key. OK....I understand that it cannot move any further to the left, but why is it not allowing me to move it to the right?

Now if I select stitch 4 (zigzag) I can adjust it either way....what gives? Am I going to have to use zigzag set at 0.0 width?

I'm new sew be easy on me!
Sew_Silly is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 02:04 PM
  #2  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Sew_Silly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Wow....feel like such a newbie LOL!
Apparently I didn't even move it out of center needle position Ha! I did change it to 00 Left needle position, but the needle didn't move over until I manually turned the wheel towards me. Once it actually moved all the way over to the left only then was I able to adjust needle position....whew!
Sew_Silly is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 02:26 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NE California - no where near the Bay Area!
Posts: 342
Default

Just make sure that you change the needle position if you put a quilting foot on - you'll break your needle when it hits the foot. Trust me - experience.
Ranchwife is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 05:25 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beautiful Wyoming
Posts: 369
Default

I used to have that same model Brother and if you use stitch 37 (which is for piecing) with your "J" foot, you can line your fabric along the edge of the foot for a 1/4" seam. Stitch 37 also has a shorter stitch length, which is better for piecing (unless you have to rip it out!).
Cass62 is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 09:44 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
lalaland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 2,430
Default

I always use the zig zag to adjust my needle to either right or left, I really think that's the only way you can do it. On my Kenmores, Brothers, and Janomes, that's the way I've always done it.
lalaland is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 02:12 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Sew_Silly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks,

I know about stitch selection 37 and 38, but now am just using 00 and moving the needle to 6.0 (not 5.5 (1/4") for my scant 1/4". On this setting I tested it out on 3-2" strips and the center measured out perfectly at 1.5" for a total of 5.5". I'm way new to sewing so I'll keep my length set to 2.5mm....besides my eye's ain't good enuf to see that tiny of stitch LOL!

Last edited by Sew_Silly; 04-13-2013 at 02:14 PM. Reason: spell mistake
Sew_Silly is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 02:27 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Default

I have the same machine - will check this out -

I have been using stitch #1 lately, as it allows you to reverse sttich -- #37 does not.

I use the 1/4" quilting foot that came with the machine and keep my fabric edge about 1/8" from it to get a scant 1/4" seam. I have tried all the markings, rubber bands, etc and thet just get in my way !
MO74 is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 04:26 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Sew_Silly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Hi MO74,
Mine didn't come with the 1/4" foot....of the optionals, it only included the walking foot and the FMQ foot, so I'm just using the zigzag foot and lining my fabric up with the edge.
As far as the markings, I was getting frustrated with the address label, tape, post-in note idea for guiding my fabric because of the bobbin case in the way. Finally I just said the heck with it and taped an old library card down with part of it right over the bobbin case to just in front of the foot and extending right on to my extended table!! Will just have to re-align the card every time the bobbin needs replaced...oh well! The only darn tape I had around was some black electrical tape HA HA....just the edge I was looking for
Sew_Silly is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 04:40 AM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Default Scant 1/4 inch seam sewing diagonal

Hi I have read much about lining up for a 1/4 " seam and a scant 1/4" seam. I must have the same machine and am using 01 to centre my needle, not used to having a needle that adjusts to the left all the time. Machine is a week old and have broken 3 needles so far. Cards and tape to line up are great but what do you do when sewing a diagonal seam with a scant 1/4" cannot see tape?
sewnew48 is offline  
Old 12-09-2014, 06:15 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: sunrise fl
Posts: 163
Default

Starting at the left as the default has bugged me about this machine, too.
knitnnan is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
adyldrop
Main
20
05-27-2012 01:22 PM
sasseyib
Main
40
10-03-2010 08:47 AM
DeniseB
Main
24
09-11-2010 03:19 AM
sharon b
Main
3
03-01-2010 09:36 PM
Sugarpumpkin
Main
17
02-10-2010 06:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.