Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do I "pretreat" batiks? I need your advice! >

How do I "pretreat" batiks? I need your advice!

How do I "pretreat" batiks? I need your advice!

Old 09-09-2011, 07:23 PM

I have purchased assorted batiks to do the Tradewinds quilt. This is my first time using batiks so I need some advice. I usually do not prewash my fabrics but I know that batiks are different. Do I wash them in hot, warm, or cold water? Do I add white vinegar or salt to set the fabric dyes? Should I use a Shout color catcher? Can I wash all the colors at the same time or do I need to do each individually or separate them into lights and darks? I have invested more money than usual in this fabric and want to do it right! Any help or suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 09-09-2011, 07:51 PM

I use Retayne and hot water. I soak them for a few minutes and rinse. Then wash as usual.
Old 09-09-2011, 08:05 PM
Power Poster

Yes, Retayne is to set the dye. I would separate into a light load and a dark load like doing the laundry. I would also throw in a couple of colour catchers to soak up any bleeds.
Old 09-09-2011, 09:38 PM

You'll want to use Retayne. It will set in the dyes.

I had 20 green batiks that I set. You can put a bunch of fabrics into one Retayne bath, but I didn't want to risk the batiks bleeding into each other (some excess dye will shed...that's normal) and setting into each other. I know its possible because one of the fabrics I did bled a lot and the selvage went from white to green. So to be extra safe I did them separately. Its a little bit more work, but I think its worth it if it means knowing for sure I'm not going to ruin my fabrics.