Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
how do you know what your style is? >

how do you know what your style is?

how do you know what your style is?

Old 07-14-2012, 07:12 AM

Default how do you know what your style is?

Im a new quilter and I just go for what I like! If I see a cute pattern or fabric I figure I will plan to do that one day. I looked over my small stash since Im a newbie and I have a good variety. I guess Im wondering what is traditional anyways. I know what modern is and I dont tend to lean that way much. Are these the only two styles?
Old 07-14-2012, 07:34 AM

Oooo...interesting question!

I think "traditional" and "contemporary" are broad enough that every style can be slotted into one or the other, but because they are so broad they are almost meaningless. For instance, if I described a quilt as a "William Morris" quilt it would mean a very specific look, with very specific colors, and even a certain technique (applique, I believe) in most cases. Yet that could be considered as "traditional" as any nine-patch in feedsack cotton!

When people ask me what kind of quilting I do I tend to describe the techniques and the colors I prefer to use, rather than a style. If pressed I might say "leaning toward contemporary", but even then I would feel the need to qualify that extensively.

I'll be curious to see what others say on this thread!

Alison
Old 07-14-2012, 08:00 AM

This is a great question! Looking forward to reading more responses.

I agree with what Alisonquilts posted about any style (persay) fitting into either type. Like you, I try what I like and want to experiment/learn at the time. Yet, mainly all of the quilts I create are considered Scrappy. Which again can fit into either catergory.
Old 07-14-2012, 08:56 AM

From what I feel, "traditional" would be anything that has a repetitve block, and the block has a name, and a story behind it Usually the quilt would have a border, and geometry of block placement is highly symmetrical.