Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   how do you know what your style is? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/how-do-you-know-what-your-style-t194587.html)

DawnA 07-14-2012 07:12 AM

how do you know what your style is?

Im a new quilter and I just go for what I like! If I see a cute pattern or fabric I figure I will plan to do that one day. I looked over my small stash since Im a newbie and I have a good variety. I guess Im wondering what is traditional anyways. I know what modern is and I dont tend to lean that way much. Are these the only two styles?

alisonquilts 07-14-2012 07:34 AM

Oooo...interesting question!

I think "traditional" and "contemporary" are broad enough that every style can be slotted into one or the other, but because they are so broad they are almost meaningless. For instance, if I described a quilt as a "William Morris" quilt it would mean a very specific look, with very specific colors, and even a certain technique (applique, I believe) in most cases. Yet that could be considered as "traditional" as any nine-patch in feedsack cotton!

When people ask me what kind of quilting I do I tend to describe the techniques and the colors I prefer to use, rather than a style. If pressed I might say "leaning toward contemporary", but even then I would feel the need to qualify that extensively.

I'll be curious to see what others say on this thread!

Alison

Chicca 07-14-2012 08:00 AM

This is a great question! Looking forward to reading more responses.

I agree with what Alisonquilts posted about any style (persay) fitting into either type. Like you, I try what I like and want to experiment/learn at the time. Yet, mainly all of the quilts I create are considered Scrappy. Which again can fit into either catergory.

liont 07-14-2012 08:56 AM