Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How long does it take for you to handquilt? >

How long does it take for you to handquilt?

How long does it take for you to handquilt?

Old 04-07-2015, 05:11 PM

Default How long does it take for you to handquilt?

So this week I'm finally finishing up hand quilting a quilt that I have been working on day and night with for the last 4 months and I posted that I was going to quilt the boarder of the quilt. But now I feel as if I'm not going to have time. Because my thing is, it takes me a good 6-8 months to hand-quilt a full size quilt. The quilt needs to be done around the middle of May but I don't want to be hurrying and not have enough time to get it binned at the last minute. So my question is how long does it take you to hand-quilt? If you know a quilt needs to be done within a certain time what do you do?
Old 04-07-2015, 05:45 PM

Do you know anyone who would be willing to help you? Is it on a frame, hoop, or lap quilting? I have hand quilted two large quilts and one smaller one. I also quilt with a group around a frame every week. I have found the border is the easiest, especially if you choose a pattern that lets you quilt in long stretches so you are not constantly stopping to knot and start again. I don't know what your border is like, but if it is a strip border, there are no seams to quilt through and that goes faster. A simple pattern also takes less time to mark. It is doable to finish by May, but you are probably tired of it about now. A simple border pattern will give you a new burst of energy.
Old 04-07-2015, 06:34 PM