Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 36 of 36

Thread: HQ sweet 16 --my review!

  1. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Posts
    742
    I have had my Sweet 16 for about a year and I still love it! I only want to quilt my own quilts, and it is so easy to use. I played with some long arms, but the space and cost led me to decide on a sit down. I have use all kinds of threads from a metallic to king tut to water soluble (for basting) and the machine loves them all. It isn't too hard to learn how to adjust either the top or bobbin tension. You just have to give yourself time to ge your FMQ rhythm down.

    Pam

  2. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    23
    I have had my HQ16 for about 12 months now and I still love it. I have just bought the stitch regulator for the machine and am playing with it. Earlier this year I quilted a Super King quilt on the 16 for my son and the quilt came up quite good. The table supports the weight of the quilt and you can see what you are doing. I have been messing around with some trappunto using rayon thread and found bring the thread to the horizontal feed (at the front of the machine) and going through only two tension holes, the thread fed fine. It really is playing with the tension and placement for each thread but the machine is great fun.

  3. #28
    Senior Member lonestardreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    409
    I love that machine. The dealer where I shop has it and I love to sit and play with it.

  4. #29
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    689
    Quote Originally Posted by Debbie downunder View Post
    I have had my HQ16 for about 12 months now and I still love it. I have just bought the stitch regulator for the machine and am playing with it. Earlier this year I quilted a Super King quilt on the 16 for my son and the quilt came up quite good. The table supports the weight of the quilt and you can see what you are doing. I have been messing around with some trappunto using rayon thread and found bring the thread to the horizontal feed (at the front of the machine) and going through only two tension holes, the thread fed fine. It really is playing with the tension and placement for each thread but the machine is great fun.
    I have been debating about the stitch regulator down the road in your opinion do you think it's worth the $?
    ELIZAJANE

  5. #30
    Senior Member sept97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    576
    I'd love one but my pocketbook is stopping me, lol

  6. #31
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    15,687
    Blog Entries
    1
    I just ordered mine with the TruStitch on Friday. I am so beyond excited - I am busting at the seam.

  7. #32
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    7,513
    Congrats on your new toy!
    Linda

  8. #33
    Super Member Caroline S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    3,969
    Based on all of the previous good reviews of the Sweet 16 I ordered one. It arrived last week and am now in the learning curve process.
    Sweet Caroline

  9. #34
    Power Poster Mariposa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Washington
    Posts
    29,330
    I have an HQ 16, and I love it! It is a great machine, and you will have such fun learning on yours!
    Be a blessing to others, as you may entertain angels unaware!

  10. #35
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    689
    Quote Originally Posted by MadQuilter View Post
    I just ordered mine with the TruStitch on Friday. I am so beyond excited - I am busting at the seam.
    I want the trust stitch eventually!
    ELIZAJANE

  11. #36
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    689
    Quote Originally Posted by Caroline S View Post
    Based on all of the previous good reviews of the Sweet 16 I ordered one. It arrived last week and am now in the learning curve process.
    I think u will like it , the tension stumps me sometimes
    ELIZAJANE

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.