Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: HQ sweet 16 --my review!

  1. #1
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    691

    Wink HQ sweet 16 --my review!

    Well I finally got the sweet 16 from ups man today. Ive been playing on it all day thought I'd let u all kno my personal reviews so far 4 all of u who are thinking of purchasing one. First off the table is very heavy and u really need two pple to maneuver. The midarm slides right in very easily & the actual set up is pretty fool proof. The threading wasn't bad at all & I've got that down pat. The computer software is touch screen & very straight forward u don't need a lot of computer lingo to work your way around it I love the fact that it has diagnostic for trouble shooting too bad none for the tension lol!! I did have to mess with a little bit with the tension but I'm sure some of u pros can get it faster than me! Overall I'm really happy with I'm not 100 percent happy with the table the legs do not want to lock in place easily & I had a near disaster.. But all is well. I do think I will stick with the heavier king tut thread it sewed better to me than the silk brand they sent with it. I must say I'm a complete novice to Fmq but in just an hour I was making circles with it so I'm soo excited about the possibilities !!
    ELIZAJANE

  2. #2
    Super Member quiltjoey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,078
    Congratulations on your new purchase! Hope it gives you many hours of enjoyment and saves you on having your quilts sent out! God bless...

  3. #3
    Senior Member sylviak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    southern Oklahoma
    Posts
    957
    Congratulations on your new "baby"! Have you named "him" or "her" yet? I'm sure you will really fall in love with it once you get used to it. All that extra throat space will make it easier for you to quilt. Looking forward to seeing your work. Make some "practice" pieces and just try a little of everything.

  4. #4
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9,699
    Woohoo! Just last weekend I tried it out at a sewing store and really liked it. Have fun!
    Anna Quilts

  5. #5
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,478
    Blog Entries
    43
    thanks for the review. sounds like it will work out very well for you. congrats
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  6. #6
    Super Member SuzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,244
    Enjoy!!
    Suzy

  7. #7
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    584
    I have one and I agree with what you said. I don't worry about the table because I don't move it and I had help setting it up so it was not a problem at all. It does like King Tut and after spending quite some time playing with cheaper thread I decided it wasn't worth my time so went directly to King Tut and Superbob bobbins. It's all good. I just love mine. Just wish I had more time to use it. Enjoy your new sweet 16.

  8. #8
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    691
    Quote Originally Posted by qwkslver View Post
    I have one and I agree with what you said. I don't worry about the table because I don't move it and I had help setting it up so it was not a problem at all. It does like King Tut and after spending quite some time playing with cheaper thread I decided it wasn't worth my time so went directly to King Tut and Superbob bobbins. It's all good. I just love mine. Just wish I had more time to use it. Enjoy your new sweet 16.
    Thx 4 mentioning super bob bobbins I will keep with those.. Don't want to rock the boat lol
    ELIZAJANE

  9. #9
    Super Member Caroline S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    3,972
    Thanks for your review. I am contemplating ordering a HQ Sweet 16. Your experiences with the machine may help me make the final decision. May I ask why you decided on the HQ Sweet 16? My main reason for considering it is that I do not have room for a long arm and I can't stand on my feet for long periods of time.
    Sweet Caroline

  10. #10
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    691
    Quote Originally Posted by Caroline S View Post
    Thanks for your review. I am contemplating ordering a HQ Sweet 16. Your experiences with the machine may help me make the final decision. May I ask why you decided on the HQ Sweet 16? My main reason for considering it is that I do not have room for a long arm and I can't stand on my feet for long periods of time.
    I struggled with the decision of a longarm actually & went bk & forth a lot but I can honestly say I'm really happy with the sweet 16. The standing with the longarm wouldn't have bothered me & I had the room but the longarm brand I could afford had very mixed reviews & I wasn't willing to take that chance & I know handiquilter brand is amazing! And their customer support as well. I think u would really like it! I ordered mine from sewingmachinesplus.com & did the no interest payments over 48 months so it's affordable & they did free shipping & even threw in a 2000 yd king tut thread. I ordered the optional side tables as well & it makes the table 6 ft. God Bless!
    ELIZAJANE

  11. #11
    Super Member Quiltngolfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    3,252
    Congratulations! I'm glad you like it. I would love to have one but don't know where I would put it.

  12. #12
    Super Member blahel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    other side of the black stump, Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    1,888
    Blog Entries
    16
    Congratulations! Thank you for doing a review as I too have been contemplating one day buying a sit down HQ sweet 16 but will thoroughly do my homework to ensure it is what I want as it is expensive..I got brochures etc from the last quilt show I went to but did not sit down to use it as then I might have weakened! I watched the lady demo it and it seemed wonderful..
    I have a couple of questions..can you let me know how it handles thicker materials and bulky seams?
    also does it have a bigger bobbin?
    Did you get the stitch regulator?
    Initially I fell in love with the Janome Horizon but after extensive research and thinking do I really need it, I decided that a straight stitch only machine with a big throat is what I need...ok want!
    Also could you if you wanted to just sew with it? Does it come with additional feet or do you only use the one foot?
    Keep us updated with your progress and what you love about it and also what you dont..happy quilting you lucky girl!
    True friends are like diamonds
    They are precious and rare.

  13. #13
    Super Member NikkiLu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    So. Central MO
    Posts
    2,637
    Blog Entries
    1
    So happy for a fellow Missourian in getting a new "toy" to play with! Where are you located? I am in Lebanon - just off of I-44.
    Nikki in MO

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ocean Springs, MS
    Posts
    9,326
    Thanks for your review. I've got my eye on this machine also. Still a little to high for my budget. Have fun creating on it.

  15. #15
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    584

    Talking winder

    Quote Originally Posted by ejpkam View Post
    Thx 4 mentioning super bob bobbins I will keep with those.. Don't want to rock the boat lol
    They arrive with a really nice bobbin winder, but I haven't tackled it yet. Don't know if I will. I like the SuperBobs. Easy and fast.

  16. #16
    Senior Member ejpkam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    WV but in MO
    Posts
    691
    Quote Originally Posted by qwkslver View Post
    They arrive with a really nice bobbin winder, but I haven't tackled it yet. Don't know if I will. I like the SuperBobs. Easy and fast.
    The bobbin winder is very easy to use ! Looks complicated but not!
    ELIZAJANE

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    60
    Blog Entries
    4
    I have a long arm machine, and the frame can be raised or lowered so you can sit or stand. Just get a desk chair
    with rollers on it, and you can keep moving along.

  18. #18
    Senior Member rrhaigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Handiquilter has great customer support and a great website with lots of tutorial videos.
    Robin
    robinsquiltingroom.blogspot.com
    Southern California

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga
    Posts
    174
    Congratulation! God is good all the time, i wish you bless quilt design
    #They Call Me QuickStitch!!

  20. #20
    Super Member nstitches4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    3,551
    Congratulations! It sounds like you are already having fun. Please post a picture of the first quilt you FMQ.

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,726
    Quote Originally Posted by zig56gie View Post
    I have a long arm machine, and the frame can be raised or lowered so you can sit or stand. Just get a desk chair
    with rollers on it, and you can keep moving along.
    What kind of machine do you have?

  22. #22
    Super Member pjnesler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Rochester, Minnesota
    Posts
    1,794
    Blog Entries
    16
    Lots of great info - I'm happy for you - bet you'll have lots of fun with the Sweet 16. I always play with them at the quilt shows, just did yesterday! Also tried a Sunshine 16 that was really nice to run, never saw one of those before.

  23. #23
    Dee
    Dee is offline
    Super Member Dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pa.
    Posts
    3,619
    Congratulations on your new baby. Happy stitching.

  24. #24
    Super Member AshleyR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    1,099
    Blog Entries
    30
    I've narrowed my big purchase down to the Sunshine 16 or a Bailey. Unfortunately, the only thing I can test drive is the Sweet 16, and it *is* sweet!!! Every dealer I've found for the the Sunshine no longer sells it. Did the Sunshine compare to the Sweet?
    The company is about 5 hours from me, it would be a do-able "road trip" to try one and purchase, but I'm trying to narrow it down further. Only have heard good things about Bailey! Haven't heard much about Sunshine at all. Do you recall the show-price of Sunshine?

    Quote Originally Posted by pjnesler View Post
    Lots of great info - I'm happy for you - bet you'll have lots of fun with the Sweet 16. I always play with them at the quilt shows, just did yesterday! Also tried a Sunshine 16 that was really nice to run, never saw one of those before.

  25. #25
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,480
    Thanks for your review. This machine is a consideration for me and a couple of my friends. I really want something bigger and computerized but the $$ and the fact that I have shoulder and knee problems may make me go for a sit down model.


    My newest Grandson, Caleb Austin, was born May 29th. I am now Grandma to 4 precious babies. I am so blessed!!!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.