Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: I can't believe I just did that. AKA Binding hates me.

Angry I can't believe I just did that. AKA Binding hates me.

Binding hates me. I hate binding. I have several quilts ready for binding and I've been putting it off because I'm new at this, and quite frankly, it scares me a little. This afternoon I got up enough courage and got the binding on a small quilt for my youngest daughter. I did this one all by machine. It wasn't horrible but I'm glad it's for a 4 year old who is going to drag it around all day.

I have another lap sized quilt for my mother-in-law. I decided I would try hand stitching the back for this one, to see what method I liked more. I got it all sewn to the front, everything was nice and straight and I was starting to think I didn't really hate binding. And then I realized......I sewed the finished edge of the binding and the raw edge of the quilt together. I'm an idiot.

Is my only option a date with the seam ripper? I am sure I will never finish this quilt now. I am soooo frustrated with the binding and what a stupid mistake I made!!!!!

We all make mistakes and some times I think I do dumb ones, just put it away till tomorrow then rip it out and start over you will be so glad you did. It will turn out just fine and you will be proud. I figure ripping is an in front of TV project. Good luck with it.
    Earleen The best helping hand is at the end of your arm.

I did that once before too. It was very frustrating since it was a large quilt. The positive side of it is that I never, ever made that particular mistake again!

Could you trim it off and cut new binding? I feel your pain!

Blog Entries