Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I have no idea what I'm doing, Frankenstein set up >

I have no idea what I'm doing, Frankenstein set up

I have no idea what I'm doing, Frankenstein set up

Old 11-14-2013, 01:25 PM

Default I have no idea what I'm doing, Frankenstein set up

I will try to be brief. I am completely self taught, so forgive me if I'm using incorrect terms. I have pieced a few tops on my hand me down singer. I do a decent job. I have hand pieced before. My one quilt I have finished and gave away was machine pieced and hand quilted. My arthritis is advancing and my fingers are starting to go wonky. I decided I want to machine quilt my WIPs and future tops.

Bought a free motion foot for my old singer. I couldn't do it in throat space it has with the size quilts I tend to end up with lol.

I bought a used next generation grace quilting frame ($250) to put my singer on. Again, the throat space was not correct and I could not get a speed control unit for it. So there was no easy way to operate the machine and table together. The frame sat for 6 months, the cats love it.

I found a gently used babylock BLQP ($100). I am picking it up this weekend. From what I understand this is the style machine I need for this frame. Am I correct? I was told to get the Viking husqvarna mega quilter or janome 1600, but I cannot afford the ones I have found.

So, if this machine is ok for this frame; is there anything else I need to buy? I know I need to order a new speed control. The one I got with the frame is not compatible. It looks like I can get one for about $80 from grace co.

I will also be looking into new bungees? I am going to try to make my own leaders?
Are stitch regulators necessary? From what I gather no, but I will need to practice?
I read a lot of info on various forums and watch a lot of YouTube videos, but it all seems like a foreign language to me.