Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I need advice printing on fabric >

I need advice printing on fabric

I need advice printing on fabric

Old 04-09-2016, 02:50 AM

Default I need advice printing on fabric

I am in the process of making Pam Bono's Home run quilt and I need a picture of my grandson on it. I have no experience printing on fabric, but I can read the instructions lol. What I need to know is will this be washable after his picture is on it? And will Staples print this if I prepare it with freezer paper?
Thank you!
Old 04-09-2016, 03:05 AM
Power Poster

I would certainly look into other places that do professional printing on fabric, maybe the companies that print on t-shirts would be a start. If I did one, I have read too many comments here about the color of the photos washing away. Good Luck.
Old 04-09-2016, 06:19 AM

There are print shops that do print on fabric. You'd have to call your local Staples to find out if they do that & what, if any, prep work they require of you.

If it's not a rush, I'd use Spoonflower (with Kona cotton fabric as the base). http://www.spoonflower.com/designs/new?create=fabric
Old 04-09-2016, 08:54 AM

I second Spoonflower. The fabric and print is great to work with. The only drawback is waiting for shipment, it can take a few weeks sometimes.
Old 04-09-2016, 09:19 AM
Power Poster

Another vote for Spoonflower. The experience I had using a print shop the pictures were like rubber ( like the decals on tshirts) I've had decent { luck} printing my own using the June Taylor printer fabric sheets, I purchased ( expensive) permanent ink for my printer. I've also treated/ prepared my own fabric ( prewashed with detergent, no softener; soaked in soda ash, dried, pressed to freezer paper, printed & heat set) labor intensive and expensive the pictures have faded/ dulled over time. My fabrics from Spoonflower are wonderful! Vibrant, good quality fabrics, worth the wait.
Old 04-09-2016, 10:03 AM