Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • I need information about quilt batting >
  • I need information about quilt batting

• I need information about quilt batting

Old 07-22-2014, 11:12 AM

Unhappy I need information about quilt batting

This is my first time on the Quilting board, so I am holding my breath hoping I am OK starting a new thread on the subject of quilt batting.

I am new to quilting. All I know has been learned from a great teacher; the INTERNET! I have no friends that quilt, so I don't know where to get information about batting. So far I have used blankets from the Goodwill, washed and clean of course.

Now I think I want to start buying new batting probably from Joann's, as that is the only place I shop for my fabric and notions.

I would love your suggestions and anything else you want to throw in as far as advise goes; especially quilting, but a good way to lose weight too.

(I don't know anything about "tags" as it says I can add 5 tags. Maybe some advise about tags would help too.)
    Old 07-22-2014, 11:52 AM
    IQ2

here's a nice summary of the different types:
    http://www.createforless.com/buying-...right-one.aspx
    Choosing your batting depends on how heavy you want it to be, how much loft you want, how closely you want to quilt, whether you want it to be washable, etc. Also keep in mind that if you use white fabric you want to use white batting so it doesn't show through and dull the look of the fabric. The web sites for the various batting manufacturers also describe their uses, etc. My quilting instructor mostly recommends Hobbs 80/20 (80%cotton,20%polyester) as a good basic batting.
    Old 07-22-2014, 11:58 AM