Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38

Thread: I need an opinion please!

  1. #1
    Super Member jrhboxers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lexington Park, Maryland
    Posts
    1,143

    I need an opinion please!

    I recently posted pictures of the quilts that I made my son and his girlfriend. The post is here - http://www.quiltingboard.com/picture...a-t222366.html

    My husband is telling me that I need to enter one or both of them in the county fair. We have lived here for two and half years. And at both fairs that we have attended, he was not very impressed with what he saw displayed.

    When we lived in Indianapolis, I routinely entered things in the Indiana State Fair in crocheting, sewing and cross stitching. I always seemed to win ribbons, and have four Best of Show ribbons and two Sweepstakes. (I don't do as much crocheting and cross stitching anymore due to health issues.)

    So, opinions - should I enter something in the fair? Which one? Or both?

    Thanks for your input.
    Jane
    Physically in Maryland but heart is in Indianapolis.

    Rescued Boxers are adoptable love. Please consider a homeless/rescued pet when adding to your family.

  2. #2
    Super Member klgls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,600
    They are both beautiful - enter them both!

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    4,727
    That's my opinion as well. Go for it!

  4. #4
    Super Member Teddybear Lady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    AR
    Posts
    3,326
    I agree, enter both of them. Great job!

  5. #5
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    30,826
    ​Look at the prize list of both fairs and see if there is a section for professionally quilted quilts. Some fairs want all the work done by the entrants and others are more flexible. They are great quilts and would certainly win ribbons!

  6. #6
    Super Member woody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    2,152
    Blog Entries
    1
    Enter them both, they are both gorgeous
    The biggest risk is the one not taken

  7. #7
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8,999
    As Tartan mentioned, check the rules of the fair. Many fairs, like shows, you fill in that someone else did the LA quilting on the entry form if they dont restrict entries to be all the work of one person. Some even have different categories. Like hand quilted, machine quilted or professionally quilted. I have now seen Computer quilting starting to be a seperate category.

    By all means if there are no restrictions about entering quilts that you sent out for LA quilting, enter them!

    PS, make sure you let Leesa know if you ribbon. Us LAer always like to hear if a quilt we quilted ribboned somewhere

  8. #8
    Super Member needles3thread's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,367
    Enter them both...............you never know what impresses the judges.

  9. #9
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,105
    You should enter both! They are beautiful!!

    Dina

  10. #10
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,323
    Blog Entries
    45
    what would be the drawback of entering both? they both look like winners to me
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  11. #11
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,306
    Blog Entries
    1
    sure, why not? it is always fun to enter quilts at the fair- it's fun to browse what everyone else is doing & it's fun to win those ribbons! no reason not to... I enter 3 or 4 projects every year- my family loves going to the fair & finding my quilts...it's just fun
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  12. #12
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    8,651
    Absolutely! What have you got to lose? And you might win something, or at least give others the pleasure of seeing your beautiful "stuff"!!!
    Alyce

  13. #13
    Super Member Annie68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    1,333
    Definitely enter both, lovely quilts!

  14. #14
    Super Member Gannyrosie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Orleans, La
    Posts
    1,501
    They are both beautiful, if at least you get feedback on them. But in MHO the first if my prize choice.

  15. #15
    Senior Member EdieClay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ten Mile, Tennessee
    Posts
    868
    Gorgeous quilts. Enter them both.

  16. #16
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    Enter both, they are so beautiful!!!!

  17. #17
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,943
    I would enter both but make sure that they handle quilts properly. You don't want to get it back with stains on it....
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  18. #18
    Super Member piepatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,912
    By all means, enter both quilts! They are beautiful, and you should do well with them.

  19. #19
    Super Member Daylesewblessed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    1,870
    If you have been to that fair and have seen how quilts are displayed and if you are ok with their security, then I think you should enter. You are familiar with fair entry, so you know that rules can vary. They are beautiful quilts, and people will enjoy seeing them!

  20. #20
    Senior Member SandySews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    450
    By all means.... Enter them both. They are beautiful..
    sandysews

    A merry heart doth good like a medicine.

    Wisdom is too high for a fool.

  21. #21
    Senior Member mjmachin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Orange Park, FL
    Posts
    692
    Absolutely, enter both of them. They are beautiful !

  22. #22
    Super Member #1piecemaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ashdown, AR
    Posts
    9,645
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think you should enter both of them myself. You can enter them in different catagories and that will keep them from competing against themselves. Most quilt show and county fairs have several catagories for quilts so it shouldn't be a problem. You already know that I think they are winners!! My question is how are you going to get them away from the kids for that long?
    Be the best that you can be at everything you do.
    Find me on Facebook Be my friend Join my group
    Leesa Kemp's Material Things Fabric Sales and Auctions

  23. #23
    Junior Member KimmerB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rhinelander, WI
    Posts
    295
    Go for it! You may meet some other quilters in the area.

  24. #24
    Super Member cpcarolyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Moscow Id
    Posts
    3,284
    Most defently enter both quilts in both shows. Beautiful.

  25. #25
    Super Member IBQUILTIN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Fork Ca
    Posts
    8,254
    Both are beautiful, and I would enter them. What is the worst thing that would come of it? Have fun and enjoy

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.