Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 37

Thread: I need your opinion

  1. #1
    Super Member cmagee84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    1,484
    Blog Entries
    1
    This is a quilt layout that I am using to make a fall star quilt. I am using browns, tan, burgandys, florals from a victorian collection. My question...should I use all sawtooth star blocks as in the picture, or use a variety of star blocks to add interest?

    Fall Star Quilt
    Name:  Attachment-88020.jpe
Views: 20
Size:  106.5 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member quiltsRfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    8,051
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like it just the way you've drawn it. Love the colors too.

  3. #3
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,958
    What about a friendship star for your first star border and in the cornors? It has a little movement to it.

  4. #4
    thismomquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    here! :)
    Posts
    1,491
    I love it as is!

  5. #5
    Pineapple Princess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,187
    I like it as is!!

  6. #6
    Super Member maryb119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    6,725
    I like it just like it is.

  7. #7
    Super Member sewingladydi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Woodhaven, Michigan
    Posts
    1,983
    I'm with sewcrafty-add the friendship star

  8. #8
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,462
    As is :D Love it!!
    By any chance are you using that line from April Cornell?? I forgot the name of it but I have a layer cake in it - I'm no help !! :D

  9. #9
    Super Member cmagee84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    1,484
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sueisallaboutquilts
    As is :D Love it!!
    By any chance are you using that line from April Cornell?? I forgot the name of it but I have a layer cake in it - I'm no help !! :D
    Yes and no! Her line is callled Decadant Victorian. I have one jelly roll and two charm packs. The rest is fabric I bought because I liked it and then found they all went together. I am hoping it will look victorian on my cherry 4 poster bed!!! :)

  10. #10
    Marjpf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles Area
    Posts
    1,915
    Quote Originally Posted by thismomquilts
    I love it as is!
    Me too. It's going to be beautiful.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    514
    That will look great just as you have it arranged.

  12. #12
    Super Member cmagee84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    1,484
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for all your comments, please keep them coming, since I am still deciding what to do. Making it the way it is would be faster and easier. Doing a variety of stars would take a whole lot more time. I have 5 each of the two sizes of sawtooth stars done. I keep trying to make other stars, but they don't seem to be coming together as well. However, I don't want to complete it quickly then wish I had done it differently.

  13. #13
    Super Member cmagee84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    1,484
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oh, and I am doing the center square of the sawtooth stars a different fabric than the points, which adds a lot of interest to the look!

  14. #14
    mlaceruby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Somerset PA
    Posts
    901
    I vote for as is!
    it is beautiful!

  15. #15
    Super Member Tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho Falls
    Posts
    1,908
    I think it is gorgeous, but knowing myself, I would add a variety of stars for added interest. However, it is a beautiful quilt and if you choose to just use the sawtooth stars it will still be a stunning quilt. How's that for vasilating back and forth!?! :lol:

  16. #16
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like it the way it is :D:D:D

  17. #17
    Super Member clem55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington,Kentucky
    Posts
    6,200
    Blog Entries
    6
    I like it as is. Not that I know much about patterns, but I see so many stars, it seems to me that it would look a little too busy if there were a bunch of different shapes calling for attention.

  18. #18
    Senior Member dgrindey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Palmdale, California
    Posts
    658
    I love it the way it is

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nairobi, Kenya
    Posts
    21
    I agree - I love it as it is and think it might be too busy with different starts. Love the colours. I hope you will post a picture when its finished.

  20. #20
    Super Member thequilteddove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    1,429
    What program are you using to do your design?

  21. #21
    mygirl66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    1,697
    I think you should make both of 'em!

  22. #22
    Super Member Tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho Falls
    Posts
    1,908
    Quote Originally Posted by mygirl66
    I think you should make both of 'em!
    Now there's a quilter after my own heart! :thumbup:

  23. #23
    Super Member cmagee84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    1,484
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by thequilteddove
    What program are you using to do your design?
    The design is from a magazine of several years ago. I've never designed one using the computer. Is there one particular program that is user friendly?

  24. #24
    Super Member franie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    6,573
    Tha lay out makes it interesting. So either way would be just fine. Gonna be a beautiful quilt!

  25. #25
    Super Member cmagee84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    1,484
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by mygirl66
    I think you should make both of 'em!
    I have too many things on my "to do wish list" to make the same thing twice! LOL :-D

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.