Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: i'de like some opinions please

  1. #1
    Senior Member dojo36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    882

    i'de like some opinions please

    i have a tin lizzie 18 and have had nothing but a lot of trouble out of it. so i'm considering buying a handi quilter avante 18. i'de like opinions from anybody on this machine, if you have it, if you like it, if you're 100% satisfied with it, if you've had any trouble with it or any trouble with help from the company. thanks for your input.
    donna
    love people and use things, don't use people and love things

  2. #2
    Super Member kacy 49's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    2,048
    The Avante is a great machine as is the Babylock Crown Jewel. I love my jewell and have not had any problems with it. It is also made by Handiquilter for Babylock.
    Kacy from OK

  3. #3
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,056
    Blog Entries
    53
    i'm surprised that you say you've had so much trouble with your Tin Lizzie. all the posts I've seen say it is great
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ksdot417's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    891
    I've had an Avante for about 2 years and absolutely love it. The people at HandiQuilter are great too. They followed up to make sure it had been delivered and to find out if I was happy with it. A couple of friends of mine have had the 16" for several years and they still love them.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    I have a Gammill, but I've heard good things about the Avante. Sounds like it'll be a big improvement over what you're working with now...Good luck!
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  6. #6
    Super Member Taughtby Grandma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    7,171
    I have a tin lizzie 18 since June. I've made 12 quilts of various sizes with it. The only one I had trouble with was when I tried making a king size and my machine is'nt wide enough for it. (Not the machine's fault, we don't have enough room in the room to accommodate longer). I bought it from a local sewing machine shop here in town and when I ran into problems I was able to call the store or stop in to ask questions. I love it!
    Jeanie

  7. #7
    Super Member lisalovesquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,936
    I'm sorry you've had so much trouble with your Tin Lizzie. Do you have local support? I've had mine for a year + and have loved it. I've had some problems but they were resolved quickly by my LQS owner.
    Peace

  8. #8
    Senior Member Buzzy Bee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    452
    I have a 18" tin lizzy FM machine....Got it last Feb. at Quilt Expo.....I have trouble with the tention everytime I use it...closest LQS that sells them is 2 1/2 hrs from me...i talked to company and they recomended King Tut thread...and it does work better with less problems....I love the machine...If you get King Tut thread check out Joanns on line only....They had the cheapest prices I 've found anywhere....not a big color selection but try it out...the biggest thing i've learned is that u have to adjust the top and bottom tention to work together.....pm me and let me know how you are coming along.....I really am interested !!!! Maybe we could help each other...
    Buzzy Bee

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    marion,ny
    Posts
    16
    I have a tin lizzie and I love it I quilt for others and do one quilt after the other, call your dealer if you are having problems or call the company they will help it may just be some little adjustment. happy quilting

  10. #10
    Super Member quilterella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Small town south of Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    1,702
    Blog Entries
    1
    When I first got my Tin Lizzie I hated it...too much of a learning curve. That was in April and now I love her to pieces. The main problem I had was the tension. With some help from my DH, we figured it out and as long as you do the 3 step maintenance before starting, everything should be smooth. 1: Clean machine and rails good. 2: Oil her if necessary. 3: Do the bobbin test - kinda like using a yoyo in the palm of your hand.
    If you get a different machine, will you have the same issues? Did you test drive either machine, prior to purchasing the Tin Lizzie?
    The rep I bought mine from made lots of promises and has yet to follow through with me buying the TL from her, so I have figured everything out on my own so far, along with the help of youtube. I wish you luck with whatever you decide, but, since you didn't state what problems you were having spefically, I would give the TL a second chance JMHO.
    Quilting is my PASSION not my pass time.
    If Your DREAMS don"t Scare You...Then They Are NOT Big Enough!!!Dare to DREAM!

    www.quilterella.ca

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.