Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
insul-brite ? >

insul-brite ?

insul-brite ?

Old 12-19-2016, 05:18 AM

Default insul-brite ?

Is there a right and wrong side to insul-brite and how can you tell the difference? Maybe next time I buy some I should read the insert. lol Thank you for always being here when I need to have one of my questions answered and increasing my quilting knowledge. I am a self-taught quilter and learn something everyday form you wonderful people. TIA Sharon
Old 12-19-2016, 06:21 AM
Administrator

maybe they have instructions at the manufacturer's website.

i also have a habit of tossing instructions too soon. lol
Old 12-19-2016, 07:29 AM
Power Poster

I have had trouble telling which side to use. test it between some fabrics. see which way the heat goes. you want it to go toward the back or underside of your pot holder but if making a carrier casserole item, you want the heat to come up toward the dish to keep it warm.
Old 12-19-2016, 08:47 AM

I just happen to have a new pack of Insul-Bright and no where on the front or back of the package does it say there is a right or wrong side. The only instruction is that it's not to be used in the microwave. Hope this helps. I only started saving the package instructions in the last year after 20+ years of quilting!
Old 12-19-2016, 09:06 AM

Insul-brite does not have a right or wrong side. The cook's hand will be equally protected regardless of which way you layer in the Insul-brite batting.
Old 12-19-2016, 09:48 AM

Wow, glad you mentioned not using it in the microwave! My friend was all set to make some of those fabric bowl protectors. I'll pass it on!
Old 12-19-2016, 10:18 AM

Originally Posted by MFord View Post
Wow, glad you mentioned not using it in the microwave! My friend was all set to make some of those fabric bowl protectors. I'll pass it on!