Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Janome 6600P problem

  1. #1
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Anyone know where I can 'dig' up a REPAIR manual so I can be sure of the regulating dial gizmos all being in their right order? I took it apart to get some thread and lint out, cats jumped on table, items scattered, I put back in order I thought they came out, machine didn't work right, DH came and put in gizmos in different order, machine worked for a few days, now on the fritz again, and don't have the money to get it fixed. Will take almost a tank of gas round trip plus service fee to take to shop.

    I just need to make sure of the order they go back together and can't find anything online or haven't looked in the right place.

    Any help would be appreciated. Pics are good too.

    I have several projects I need to get done yesterday! Thanks.

  2. #2
    Power Poster dkabasketlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    10,215
    I'm sorry your machine is "sick". I don't have that kind of machine, but I know someone will jump in here and give you a hand.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,657
    I have one...........maybe I can help??? What specifically did you take apart?

  4. #4
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,958
    Was this your bobbin area?

  5. #5
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Not the bobbin area but the Stitch Regulator dial. I'll try and take pics, but unless you take yours apart to see what order they are in (I don't recommend this) then, unless you have a REPAIR manual, I will have to take her in.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,657
    Oh dear. I don't have a repair manual.....I'm sorry....hopefully the magic fairy comes and magically puts yours back together correctly!!!

  7. #7
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Well the magic fairy better hurry. I have too much to finish up. If that isn't bad enough, now the camera is giving me and error message. Must be too hot for it too. :roll:

    Yesterday the truck turn indicators didn't work today they did.

    For about three weeks my gas gauge has been wonky. They want over $500 to repair at the dealers. Um, no. Guess it's just our time for things to go haywire.

    I'll say another prayer tonight.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,657
    They say bad things happen in threes....maybe this is your three ;) And hopefully this is IT!!!

  9. #9
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    30,668
    Blog Entries
    194
    here is link for Janome,

    call them and see if they can send you a manual ask them about your problem

    http://janome.com/index.cfm/Machines...ilting/MC6600P

  10. #10
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    Here is a website that might be able to help
    http://www.fixya.com/search.aspx?cst...l+janome+6600p
    Also another website where you can download the manual. Hope this helps I can't find mine and I have the same machine.
    http://www.devicemanuals.com/guide/S...0RReE1UST.html

  11. #11
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Thanks ladies, but I have my manual. I need the REPAIR manual which apparently only the techs have.

    I tried all day to get on the Janome forum to ask questions and it wouldn't let me on.

    The fixya.com wants money to answer your question.

    So back to square one.

  12. #12
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    I'm sorry hate to sound stupid but I am looking at my machine and the only dial I see is the dial for the tension on the front. Is this the dial? I can go by my local dealer tomorrow and ask for help they always seem to help out the quilters but I need to know which dial just point me in the right direction on the machine.

  13. #13
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Sorry, camera is down, so can't take a pic. Anyway, it is the dial numbered 0-9 and regulates the stitch length. There are approx. 10 items behind the initial dial you see from the front.

  14. #14
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    OK. Hope you can wait until about 1pm tomorrow for an answer, I will go over in the morning and see if they have a diagram or something I can send to you.

  15. #15
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    I called over to the sewing center and they want to know what the machine is doing or not doing and if you can give as much info as possible I can take it with me and they said they will try and help.

  16. #16
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Well, when I start to stitch, it does teh loopy bird nest thing underneath, it breaks teh thread, it gives an errror message that I can't continue for safety sake or something like that.

    I have re-threaded, changed thread, changed bobbin, cleaned twice real good, changed needle, took apart the regulating dial and got a piece of thread out of there, re-cleaned, re-threaded, it worked for a few days then wham! thread breaks again then the loops underneath. It all started when I tried to use the zig-zag for these VBS costumes.

    Thanks for your help you really don't have to do all that. I sure appreciate it tho.

  17. #17
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    It's not a problem they are only a couple blocks from my house. I had the same thing happen but after I used the tread cutter button and when I took it in he retreaded it and reset something and it has been fine since. Since it is computerized I think there is a way to reset them also but I'll get as much info as possible. I'll post as soon as I get back from there.

  18. #18
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    Sorry it took so long to get back to you had to work later than I thought. Not sure how far apart you took it so here goes. If you remove the dial you'll see a screw and white plastic piece where the screw goes in that screw not only holds the pcs in it is an adjusting screw. He suggested having your DH put the pcs back the way he did it since it did work for a few days and then adjust that screw little by little. Also behind that where the big black spring is is also a sm. screw that is another adjusting screw. so if you are putting it back together the sm. springs first, the black spring, white plastic pc and then the screw. If you went further than that he said you may have a problem getting all the sm screws back to their proper adjustment and is time consuming. He also said to reset the memory with the switch on back because the error might have set itself in the memory and you need to clear that. How far apart did you take it? Did you go as far back as the tension wire thingy(my term not his)? He said try this and if that doesn't work then he said I could come back and he could see what else he could figure out for you. He also said when putting each pc in dust all sides with a soft little brush including the screws. Hope this helps if not let me know. He is closed on sunday and monday so I would have to go over tomorrow. All else fails my DH will take my other machine apart and write down the exact order for you and since the sewing center is so close I can always take it there if something goes wrong (he's really resonably priced for the one's that bought there machines there, last time mine was free). I will be online most of tonight and on and off tomorrow Hope we can get this fixed for you.

  19. #19
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Thank you so much. I really appreciate your time and effort. I did re-do everything and still no go. SO... I called the sewing shop and they can see me Tuesday and will look at the machine to see what is wrong at no cost., He said there may be a burr on teh bobbin winder or needle or some other little thing and if it just needs an adjustment may cost as little as $20.00 and for $75 they will do a complete cleaning, oil, and tune up. Can't beat that.

    Yes, I took ALL the gadgets off to the far back. Usually I have no problem fixing things like this, but with the cat swishing the pieces off the table...well...Thanks again. Will be so glad to get my machine fixed.

  20. #20
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    Sorry it didn't work out but sounds like you found a good shop with fair prices. Best of luck

  21. #21
    Super Member wvdek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    A million dollar view!
    Posts
    8,890
    Well, dropped my machine off around 10:15 a.m. and picked it up around 2:30 p.m. and he only charged me the $75 he said he would if I had it cleaned, oiled, and tuned. Wow, runs like a charm again. Picked up 10 more bobbins and a bobbin holder. Because it is a Janome, they take a special bobbin that I have to either get from this place or order on-line. The tension was all messed up and the tension screw had zero tension in it. Now to finish the quilt projects tom.

    Thanks all for the help.

  22. #22
    Senior Member quiltstodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    597
    Glad to hear it all worked out and sounds like you found a really good shop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.