Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Janome Gem (and probably others) Do Have Variable Needle Positions

  1. #1
    Super Member lalaland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    2,484

    Janome Gem (and probably others) Do Have Variable Needle Positions

    You do have variable needle positions on this machine - lots of them! I found this out by accident. Press the zig zag button on our machine. If you press the +, your needle will move several positions to the right, the same if you press the -, the needle will move several positions to the left. You can stop at any needle position you want. Then press the straight stitch button. Your needle will stay in the position you left it in and you can sew away on your straight stitch. Hope my directions are clear!
    Thought for EVERY Day: You know all those things you've always wanted to do? You should go do them.

  2. #2
    Super Member ShowMama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    1,029
    Hey, thanks. I'm going to have to try that out. I have a Janome Jem and have often wished the needle could work in another position. This is really good to know.
    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...B5F8C60F07.png
    There is no snooze button on a hungry cat!

  3. #3
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,658
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have an older Janome Jem. No buttons to push. LOL. So they don't all do that.
    Got fabric?

  4. #4
    Senior Member pinkberrykay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SOO, MI
    Posts
    825
    I have a DC 3050 and I use this all the time to adjust my 1/4 inch seam allowance. Its great for an easy 1/4 inch "scant seam".

  5. #5
    Super Member lovingmama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    3,778
    Blog Entries
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    I have an older Janome Jem. No buttons to push. LOL. So they don't all do that.
    I don't have the button to push either. I guess it has to be computerized?. Janome Jem with the serger option on it, doesn't has it either, which they are newer models.
    ♥♥♥ Loving Mama ♥♥♥

    If life gives you scraps, make an angel quilt out of it!

  6. #6
    Super Member amandasgramma's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    La Pine Oregon, USA
    Posts
    5,909
    My Janome Gem has that ability but my friend's doesn't! So some of the older ones can't do it. BTW - it really helps to read the manual!!! LOL LOL

    For those that have the new model.....does your sewing machine have a zig-zag stitch? Do you have a button to set the width of the zig-zag? That's the button she's talking about.
    Dee


    "A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing." by George Bernard Shaw

  7. #7
    Super Member Caroline S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Posts
    3,969
    I use the Zig Zag needle position all the time on my Elna 7300 to get that scant 1/4 inch seam allowance.
    Sweet Caroline

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.