Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Just another reminder to check the obvious!

Just another reminder to check the obvious!

I've been having a world of trouble with the automatic needle threader on my Singer 160. No matter what position I put the needle in... or how fast I pressed the lever....or how slow (LOL)....or how much tension was on the thread... I could not get the thread to go into the needle!

I studied the sewing machine manual and prepared my tools this evening. That threader was going to work, no matter what! I tweaked and oiled the mechanism a little. Still, no luck.

All of a sudden a thought popped into my head.... change the NEEDLE! I changed the needle and guess what? Threader problem solved.

Recently I was working on a George Washington costume for a friend's son (don't ask how I got that job!). It required me to sew through elastic in a casing. I assume that sewing through that thick elastic caused the needle to bend ever so slightly, thus the threader could not get through the eye.

So as a public service announcement - always check the obvious things! Needle, bobbin thread (make sure it's going counter-clockwise), burrs on your thread spool - things like that will cause problems that drive you nutty, and they are so easily fixed!

Blog Entries
    Wow! That seems obvious in hindsight, but not sure I would have twigged to it the way you did.

Wow....thanks...solved my problem! Thought is just quit working...and the needle is just bent ever so slightly!

Blog Entries
    thanks for the reminder
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.