Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Just can't get it >

Just can't get it

Just can't get it

Old 11-12-2016, 07:39 AM

Default Just can't get it

I know, I know. Lots of threads on 1/4" seams but I just can't get it. I am in a class where we are doing 6" blocks with lots of pieces, so that 1/4" is very important. After fiddling around for hours, I think the mistake is in my cutting. Here's the question. When placing your ruler on the material, is the line on the ruler on the right or left of the material. The width of the line on the ruler could be the amount I am off. For a 6 1/2 unfinished block, I am off almost a 1/4". I am frustrated and any help would be appreciated.
Old 11-12-2016, 07:57 AM
Power Poster

A 6 1/2 unfinished block should have a 14" seam on all sides to create a 6" finished block. There are many videos on cutting fabric. Craftsy.com has videos I'm not good at explaining better to look.
Old 11-12-2016, 08:06 AM
Power Poster

[ATTACH=CONFIG]562071[/ATTACH]I use Omni grid rulers and they have a nice thin black line. I keep the line ON the fabric and cut on the ruler edge. Here it is as if I was going to cut a 1 inch strip off this peach sample.
Attached Thumbnails image.jpeg  
Old 11-12-2016, 08:07 AM

I have found that which side of the line to use depends on the ruler, but typically it is the near side (side closest to your rotary blade) rather than the far side. I try to choose rulers with the thinnest lines to avoid this problem.
Old 11-12-2016, 08:14 AM
Power Poster

Where you place the ruler (right/left/center) of the printed line depends on the brand of ruler. The olfa rulers with the wider yellow lines may be more difficult. Creative grids has a thinner line, but some find the markings confusing. Olfa has a newer line of rulers, Olfa Frosted. Very simple, thin lines.
also, if possible, you need to use the same ruler, or at least the same brand of ruler for your entire project.